Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cub Cadet.

Cub Cadet LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor

LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
17 out of 26(65%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedOctober 5, 2014
jer44h
from elk point
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have a ltx 1040 cub cadet it is the worst mower i have ever had the belts brake all the time blades hit had to replace the blades twice this year i have to use my brother mower so i can mow my lawn i will never buy a cub cadet ever again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product overall

PostedJuly 7, 2014
jm14
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The only issue is a light bulb went after 10 hours. Great motor. The deck wash is a gimmick. I think it just makes the grass wet and then you have to chisel it off when it dries.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

May want to look for another mower....

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Webb225
from Ironton, OH
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
OK, I bought a home with several acres. Along with the house, I now have a yard that is close to 4 acres. Mild hills and some trees, however, mainly smooth. The second time I cut grass, the mower belt broke. I figured it was just a defective belt, so I got a new one. I used to work an a small engine repair shop, so replacing the belt was no chore, other than the $50.00. The fifth time I cut grass, the belt snapped again. This model has a 162 inch belt, kind of long for a 50" belt, but, oh well. The next time I cut grass, and idler pulley on the deck went out, then later another belt , then another pulley. It was funny that the guy at the Cub service dept. knew which pulley it was before I told him.
The straw that broke the camels back, I had the deck height on 7, not cutting grass, just blowing some leaves off the yard. I heard a loud noise, then seen sparks from the front of the deck. I shut it down quick. I looked and hadn't hit anything, however the front spindle had torn loose from the mowing deck. (the spindle holds the top pulley and the blade to the deck)
GOOD NEWS.....It was under warranty and Cub took care of it ALL!!!! My tractor has worked flawless, I just think it is a design flaw in that certain type of deck. If it does it again, I will get a welded deck and put on it. That's my 2 cents.....well bout $1.50...
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Uneven cut, leaves uncut strips.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Ronbo
from Danville VA.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I like to mower overall. But the cut is awful. Leave two uncut strips that you have to go back over again. very disappointed.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower, love it!

PostedJune 7, 2013
FirstCub
from Little Gensee, NY
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
This is my first Cub Cadet. I've wanted one for many years and finally was able to purchase a 1050 KW. I mow approximately 2 acres, with slight hills as well as some flats, plus lots of obstacles to mow around. I had a Craftsman for the last 12 years and never liked it. The deck was poorly made, I was constantly adjusting the level and never could get it adjusted perfectly because it was sloppy movement. I have to say the Cub Cadet is like a dream. I push mowed and bagged almost half of my yard because the Craftsman mowed lawn looked lousy. I only push just a small part now. The Cub has exceeded all of my expectations. The mowing is superb. It looks as though it was bagged because the deck disperses the cuttings so well. The level is perfect, the lines are perfect. I couldn't be happier! Oh, and this mower is so quiet!! My ears don't ring after 2 hours of mowing and my hands don't 'vibrate' for an hour after! I bought mine at my local dealer Jon Lindquist Cub Cadets and recommend them to everyone. Great product, great people, and a great service department.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST LAWN TRACTOR EVER!!!!!!

PostedMay 30, 2013
cubcadetguy
from MA
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tractor last year and it now has 60 hours on it and it is just great! id say the only problem is when I back down a hill to mow other spots it has trouble getting back up the hill but otherwise it is great!
 
My product recommendations
LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
3.8 out of 5(26)
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The manual is wrong

PostedMay 18, 2013
willowbrookfarm
from Ontario, Canada
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I just replaced the deck belt. What a chore. First, I got the part number from the manual, bought the belt. The manual has the wrong part number and the belt was a couple of feet short. The manual also, is incorrect about the deck. It refers to things that are not there, and does not mention things you must do to install the belt.
And I would not expect to get out so many tools to change a belt. I required two sockets, pliers, screw driver and a wrench.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Average

PostedMay 9, 2013
Revconguy
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just finished my first mowing. Smoothest running engine I've ever seen on a mower. Quiet! Unfortunately, my mower arrived missing a bumper mounting pin. This biggest issue I have is that the blades DO NOT overlap as claimed in the advertising. I turned the deck over and checked! The mower leaves a unmowed strip where the blades don't overlap. Overall, I'm happy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Problems with mower deck

PostedMay 4, 2013
WisconsinUser
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I bought a new LTX 1050 KW in April 2010 from a local farm implement store. I have approximately 3 acres on a farm that we mow, usually takes around 3 hours to mow and to be fair it is rougher than a city yard. In the 3 years i mowed with it I've had to replace the pulley on the mower deck twice and replace the $50 mower belt twice. Definitely wouldn't recommend this mower.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Impressed with the quality and cut

PostedOctober 6, 2012
kybill00
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this Cub Cadet after my old riding mower of a different brand had to be replaced after 10 yrs. I thought my old mower was a good mower. It had 25 HP with a 48" deck. This new Cub Cadet makes my old mower look cheap. The 50" deck feels a foot wider than my old 48" deck and I get my yard mowed so much quicker. My old mower creeped along in reverse. My Cub Cadet LTX 1050KW is fast in reverse and I turn around about as fast as a zero turn. A couple of my neighbors use a new but cheaper brand mower and my yard always looks so much better. Theirs show grass clippings and looks like they need to be raked. Mine shows no clippings and looks like it's been mulched. I've been ask if I mulch mine because it looks so good.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
verydisappointed
from TN
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Less than 100 hours on mower. Transmission has been replaced, clutch has been replaced, deck drive belt recently broke and replaced. Transmission is acting up again after mower is used for an hour. Noticed vibration in deck found spindle mounting foot broke. Skid plate at discharge chute broke at weld, assuming from vibration. Deck is rusting at welds and bolt holes. Mower is well maintained and cleaned after each use and stored covered. As mentioned rusting and stickers coming off. My previous mower, different manufacture, I had for 11yrs and did not have these kind of problems.
Will never buy Cub Cadet again.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product-Great Service

PostedJune 24, 2012
Fixall
from Parkersburg, WV
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I was debating as to whether a Zero turn woulld be beneficial to me with my property and the People of Ohio Valley Power Equipment came out and looked over my property and gave me their recommendation. This was the spring of 2011 and I decided to go with the LTX1050 mainly because my wife was worried if she was to have to mow the yard she may not be able to operate it. She wasn't that crazy about mowing until I purchased this new Cub Cadet and she now calls this "her" lawnmower. I have only got to use it twice myself in the last 1 1/2 years. It does such a great job and I feel that they at Ohio Valley Power Equipment went over and above of what they are required to do by driving a considerably out of their way to look at my property. Great mower- great service!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedApril 3, 2012
BuckeyePlumber
from Youngstown, OH
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Runs Great and mows even better. Won't go back to John Deere. First cutting of the year yesterday and what used to take almost 4 hrs took me a little over 2. LOVE the hydrostatic shift, saves a ton of time!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower that preforms far beyond the price.

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
mick
from michigan
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this lawn tractor in the early spring of 2011 and used it a full season. I mow 5+ acres and live in the woods. I don't rake the tons of oak leaves, I grind them up or blow them off the lawn with the mower.
My lawn looks like a golf course now and I finish in one third the time. The short turning radius really saves time .If I could only change one thing it would be to put piviots on the front deck wheels so that you could turn faster without them scaring the lawn. Slow down on tight turns and it is no problem.
Plenty of power for tall grass and an exellent cut. I have no doubt that I could sell these door to door by giving short demos.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Better at some things than others

PostedDecember 21, 2011
AKsnowman
from Alaska
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This machine is great for mowing. For snowblowing it is TERRIBLE! The spring that keeps the pulley in place for snowblowing keeps falling off. It will not work with more than 2 inches of snow. The wires that power the PTO are in a terrible place and on my machine got ripped apart because they got caught in the PTO, preventing the machine from running till a fuse could be replaced. If you are planning to mow with machine I would highly recommend this. To do any thing else I would not recommend this to my worst enemy.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Quality of all mowers in category

PostedNovember 27, 2011
Groag
from MN
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Don't do what I did and assume the mower deck is properly adjusted when you get the machine. After burning up 2 belts and putting undo stress on mower deck pully and having to replace, read the manual, make all the proper adjustments, and then maintain it! This is truely the best riding mower I have ever had, non-scalp, excellent cut, very comfortable and handles my 3 acres a week with ease.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This mower was a 4.5 two weeks ago. Now a 2

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
dpf000
from Wattsburg, PA
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I've had this tractor for 14 months. Last week, I replaced an Idler pulley, poor quality part, failed at 67 hrs of usage. A cheaply made stamped two part pulley wheel that separated at the bearing shaft. Today, the tractor just quit while mowing. The PTO hesitated a couple of times and then quit. I can see a loose wire. This not what I would expect from a name brand "quality" product at less than 100 hours. Of, course, the electrical problem shuts off the ignition system. I had to tow the tractor back to my garage from the far end of my lot. I was thinking about buying a snow thrower for this tractor, now I'm thinking about buying a new tractor.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice cut; Hydrostatic drive WEAK

PostedAugust 14, 2011
LeoZ
from Lake Murray, SC
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
1050kw Cuts very well and quick, turns great, runs smoothly; priced right.
My neighbors like the cutting results and handling around trees and such.
My problem, I am dissatisfied with the 1050kw ability to back out of a tight spot or pass over an obsticle in its path, blade on or off. Powerfull engine but power to wheels is not there as expected.
I did not spend enough money for a product more suited to my environment. Maybe, I can work out away to move to a shaft/belt drive model.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wish I would have bought sooner!

PostedAugust 2, 2011
BismarckJohn
from Bismarck, ND
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hands down the best tractor for the money! I bought from an indipendant dealer for less than the box stores. I am very happy with the Kawasaki engine, it is truly a notch above the rest it is very quiet and powerful and runs very smooth. I am confident it will last a very long time. The whole machine is very heavy duty and well built/designed. The deck wash works great. I cant wait to get the snowblower attachment! I regret that I struggled with an old junker for so long I should have bought this sooner!
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LTX 1050 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

less than 6 hours?

PostedJuly 16, 2011
yes2lunch
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Was very happy with the looks and performance of this machine
for 5.8 hours.
Then the drive belt comes off at 5.9 hours?
Still looks great but am not so happy with the performance
now. Still can cut great in one spot
but I thought I had paid for something that was going to
perform in many spots.
Will advise as to how I am treated from here on
and especially how my concern with resolution
of what I see may be a chronic problem with this machine.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>