Customer Reviews for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cub Cadet.

LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor

LTX 1046 Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 15(93%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good for the money

PostedNovember 28, 2011
dsteward16
from Iowa
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice tractor.Not very impressed with the bagger system.I wish there was an upgrade for this. It seems to clog up frequently and is kind of a pain to constantly take apart.The reverse pedal is kind of awkward and not real smooth.It is great other than those issues.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another winner

PostedSeptember 4, 2011
Randelli
from Bangor, Maine
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my second Cub. I loved my first. It never gave trouble in 6 years. Brought it in for a tune up at Freedom Power Equipment in Hermon, Maine. (These guys are the absolute best). Ended up leaving with my new 1046. I was very surprised how my old one had held its value. WOW, I have reduced my cutting time by 40%. The hydrostatic transmission and very tight turn make mowing a dream. The reverse lockout feature is perfect for me, as I back up frequently on my lawn. Quiet, fuel efficient, and comfortable, I can only imagine what my next Cub will be able to do.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

...best lawn and garden equipment I've ever owned!

PostedAugust 17, 2011
anchorclanker
from Hopkinton, Iowa
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I've reduced my mowing time by 25%...and my frustration factor by 100%! I no longer feel as though I've I've fought a war and lost at the end of my mowing. Taking care of my 2.5 acre lawn is a pleasure vice a chore.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Hard to control/Good cut

PostedAugust 6, 2011
SavySenior
from Southeast Michigan
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Here's the good news. Upon arrival at home with my new unit I went to work cutting grass. It cuts the grass evenly and as quickly as I could go around the yard.
The problems started when I began to use the cruise control feature. Once set, the speed is constant, but if you need to stop or change speed, you must either tap the brake or the forward pedal. If you tap the brake, the unit skids to a stop and throws you forward. If you tap the forward pedal, the unit surges forward and gives you whiplash. Bottom line, the hydrostatic drive system is not smooth and the brakes are good for parking only.
Upon completion of my grass cutting effort, I followed the instruction to use the Smart Jet Deck Washing System. As instructed, I ran the water for the specified two minutes, turned the water off and then ran it the specified two minutes to dry the underside of the deck. I checked the underside of the deck to see how well it worked, and came away with green slime on my arm where I touched the discharge chute cover. The only things that seemed to have been cleaned were the blades. The rest of the deck was filthy and still soaking wet. And water had accumulated on the top of the deck.
I had previously reviewed the documentation that was supplied with the unit and also the documentation for my unit that I found on the Cub Cadet website. There were discrepancies between the documentation and the unit as built. An important example is the oil change feature. The documentation shows a valve to turn with an oil discharge at what appears to be 90 degrees, but the unit has a plastic valve that must be turned 1/6 turn and pulled outward. There is no way to reach the drain system with a tool because it is directly under the starter motor. I have not yet found instruction on how to use the oil drain valve installed on my unit.
The attention to detail seems to be lacking.
I would have to think long and hard to convince myself that this design is one I would buy again. It needs improvement and better documentation.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a great product

PostedAugust 5, 2011
bodes1313
from mn
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just bought one today and it is awesome.
ordered the mulcher kit to go with it. i
can't believe how easy the steering is
compared to my old tractor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love my cub

PostedJune 17, 2011
grasshopper
from Clarkston,MI
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Under 1/4 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cuts great, lots of power, love turn radius.dependable
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower.

PostedMay 19, 2011
CubMAn22
from Wisconsin
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Its Quiet, runs flawless, comfortable and cuts great.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid All Around

PostedMay 15, 2011
hawk202
from Ohio
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3rd summer with this tractor and it is solid. Would have loved a zero turn (budget permitting), but the 12" turning radius is one of the features that sold me. Love the PTO - the push of a button forward/backward and reverse mowing is great. Sturdy construction - have hit some unusual objects in the yard including solid metal without any damage to deck or blades. Engine is very quiet for a tractor. Deck wash system is also very useful. This may be true of other mowers as well, but given that I keep the grass tall, sometimes when the grass is even a little bit wet, even at the highest blade setting the grass gets stuck in the chute when bagging.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

As Advertised!

PostedMay 6, 2011
slim
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great power, tight turning radius, easy to operate. I think this is the best value of all riders you can look at. The park brake has an odd engagement in that you have to tilt it down as you depress the foot brake. Other than that I really like this mower.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid and capable

PostedApril 20, 2011
Cleancut
from Easter Oregon
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got my new Cub Cadet and have only 4 hours on it but have to say I'm very impressed with this machine. The seat is comfortable and the power is great, it turns on a dime with a very smooth cut that makes my yard look great. I purchased the bagger and the horse power this mower has seems to pick up more leaves, twigs and grass than my old mower did.
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent mower

PostedApril 7, 2011
docsteveg
from McAlester, OK
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this model in 2006 and it has been an excellent mower since then. No problems at all. Before each season, I pull the deck, sharpen the blades and grease everything up. Grease mid-season and at end of season.
Cuts much better and does a better job than my previous rider.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding 46" Mower with Bagger

PostedMarch 30, 2011
falcon16c
from Kansas
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mower, Climbs steep grades with ease, very powerful engine for its size. The reverse feature is Invaluable. Easy to maintain oil & Lube points & the Cadet Grass Bagger is worth the $$$. Maneuvers around obstacles & tight places with ease. This is our 2nd year & we absolutely love this mower & look forward to cutting grass again & again. Our Cadet Baged leaves easy & efficiently saving so much time & strain from raking. WELL Worth the Cost, we look forward to Years of service & outstanding performance...Thank You Cub Cadet for building something woth owning.
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this is a good little tractor

PostedMarch 15, 2011
butters
from Freeport Pa.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought mine in 09, it does a great job cutting grass.It has never given me any problems.I just keep the oil & filter changed, grease it and change air filter when needed. I dont think you can get a better tractor for the price
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is a great product

PostedOctober 25, 2010
star
from MICHIGAN
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this Lawn Tractor for two years now.
I never had any thing go wrong with it.
It starts everytime and dose everything I ever ask of it.
I have over 50 houres on it and never had a belt come off of it.
It is a great little Lawn Tractor.
I do wish i had bought a Garden Tractor with the bigger tires and drive shaft.That way I could use it for more heaver jobs.
But the LTX 1046 dose a great job with everything I ever ask of it.
Its a GREAT LITTLE LAWN TRACTOR
+41points
42out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1046 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

In general, disappointed

PostedOctober 11, 2010
packerbacker
from Libertyville, IL
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The pick up system is cutting deck operated, rather than a seperate blower system as other tractors I have owned. Disappointed in the way it leaves grass clippings or leaves in the yard. The cutting blades do move faster than I am used too, cut the grass evenly as advertised, but do not suck up the leaves, or any wet or damp grass. The chute attachment is easy to assemble and re-assemble but you need too as it does clog more easily than the JD I had previously.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.