Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor

Cub Cadet LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor

LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
3.702 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
8
29 out of 47(62%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

changing Blades

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
oldjames
from Barryton MI.
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The manual does not show the blade removal rotation direction .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

hydrostatic overstated

PostedAugust 22, 2014
SAMMY
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
purchased the LTX1045 14 months ago. Less than 24 hrs. on the machine. Transmission failed leaving me to hand cut the 1 acre property (at least I am getting some exercise). Nearest repair show 22 miles away. Repair folks said the parking brake was stuck because it never gets used that much. Freed it up and trailered it back the 22 miles only to have it stalled when trying to get it off the trailer. Brought it back (yes, another 22 mile trip one way) and now they tell me the repair claim is in for the transmission and will take over 3 weeks before they hear back if the warranty is covering.
Funny, neighbor bought one as well due to my initial recommendation and his less than 10 hrs. will not turn over due to either the parking or seat limit switch...one or the other is bad.
If I had known the service was going to be terrible I would have opted for another solution. The LTX1045 is a decent machine when working but when it doesn't, do not rely on a speedy repair.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect

PostedAugust 10, 2014
BigT
from Dallas Texas
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What can I say most haven't already?!?!? Great machine, Love all the accessories available for it. Only issue i've ever really had was bending blades, however thats not Cub Cadets problem! lol
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Ride!

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Mike19506
from 19506
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth, sharp, steering is amazing, Solid construction, great price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great if it works

PostedMay 22, 2014
ghamp61
from Gatewood, MO.
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smart Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought my LTX 1045 in 2009 and have spent hundreds of dollars in repair and it still is difficult to start. Once it is running everything is fine but I shouldn't have to wonder if the mower will actually start.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Good looking mower but thats about it.

PostedApril 5, 2014
B739158
from Texas
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
We have had this mower for about 3 years and it has a total of 24 hours on it. That says a lot! Steering is very stiff. The unit spent Six months (yes 6 months) in shop to fix transmission. Replaced bearings on mower deck, new blades (not mowers fault- brother in laws) all within the first 20 hours of use. Lawn mower looks like it is brand new because you just don't get to use it much without something going wrong.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

THIS MOWER HAS SOME GOOD FEATURES

PostedAugust 12, 2013
CHUCK2
from LOVELAND,OHIO
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I'M A PREVIOUS CUB OWNER. I BOUGHT THIS LTX 1045 IN JUNE AND EVERYTHING IS GREAT EXCEPT THE STEERING. IT IS ADVERTISED AS HAVING 12" TURNING RADIUS ,BUT EVERY TIME YOU MAKE A TURN,AT ANY SPEED, THE TIRES DIG UP THE GRASS AND SCALP IT. YOU END UP WITH A BARE DIRT RING AROUND THE TREE OR BUSH OR WHAT EVER ELSE YOUR MOWING AROUND. THE ONLY WAY TO AVOID THIS IS TO MAKE VERY WIDE TURNS AT A SLOW SPEED. LOOKS LIKE POOR ENGINEERING ON THE FRONT AXLES ,BECAUSE ON TURNING THE TRAILING TIRE IS DRAGGING SIDEWAYS WHICH SCALPE THE LAWN. NEARLY ALL MY TREES HAVE A RING AROUND THEM.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Tricky headlights

PostedJuly 20, 2013
Redgrass
from Spokane, WA
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In my past, I've always washed down this kind of unit with the engine running to prevent stalling out. So that's what I did with my new LTX1045 after I had finished washing the mower deck. The first thing that happened was that water got through to the hot headlamp bulbs and popped them out. My question is: Why can't you have a headlamp switch on this mower? And is there any good reason that I can't put one on, myself?
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

15 volts charging, turn radius, seat comfort

PostedJuly 10, 2013
EmptyPockets
from jaspe,r alabama
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
the LTX 1045 was my pick. Cub won the paper test, the pocket wallet test, and now in my 2nd season and it has won the yard test. use to be a John deer man for 14years. Cub hands down. Great mower on hills and unlevel terrain. the one thing that cub has got to do to put the finnish on a good product is put a better battery in. the one they use is a 160 amp cold crank. they need to man up and put the 430 cold cranking amp. enough said.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HOPE THEY HAVE IMPROVED THEM !!

PostedJune 4, 2013
done
from West Tennessee
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I purchased a LTX1045 new in 2009 at a local family owned dealer. It broke 3 belts within 6 weeks, carried it in for repair and found out in had a faulty idler pulley. Not long after that, a barron went out in the other idler pulley, had that fixed. The next spring, the deck engage spring broke, then the deck engage cable. The next spring the Barron in the main drive pulley went out, now almost every time I disengage the deck the belt comes off, and the axle bushing is out. I mow about an acre and a half and this mower has NOT been abused. At one point I asked my dealer to call Cub Cadet and ask then to replace the mower because of all the trouble I was having and he laughed at me. Up untill this year the mower was under warranty. I am DONE WITH IT. This mower currently has 124 hours on it . VERY DISSAPPOINTED !! I WILL own a new mower before this summer is over and NOT ANOTHER CUB CADET !!
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

In second season, still very good

PostedMay 9, 2013
Selsaral
from Ann Arbor, Mi
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've put about 20 hours on this mower over two seasons now. Very good so far. The battery actually appeared to fail at the beginning of the second season, but it was replaced on warranty at the shop I bought it. They replaced the battery with their own brand and told me that they had seen battery problems across a wide range of machines lately. I bought it at a local mom and pop and they did a great job assembling and delivering it to me, and supporting me. From what I've read, assembly has a huge impact on the performance and some of the big box stores don't do as good a job as a specialty shop. So far the warranty and support have been great.
Maintenance is nice and easy. Changing the oil and oil filter and cleaning the air filter is very easy. Getting the blades off to have them sharpened wasn't so easy but then again I did it budget-style and didn't remove the deck.
I have the mulching blades and they do a good job. The clipping exhaust port cover is indeed a bit flimsy, as others have reported, and it popped off once on me, but it went right back on and it's been acceptable so far.
I mow about 2 acres. The turn radius and wide cut are excellent. Cutting in reverse is great, the speed is great, and the cut is good as long as the blades are sharp.
I must have gone over a nail or two and I had flats on both tires on one side. I popped them off with relative ease using a car jack and took them to a local tire shop who plugged them for free.
I clean it with my power washer which keeps it in good shape.
I may get a plow blade for the winter.
I've read the manual multiple times and I am on top of the maintenance. I am hoping to get 20 years out of this.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

this product is a smooth ride

PostedMay 5, 2013
blondie
from Warsaw, NY, USA
Age: 18-34
Gender: female
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my first brand new mower and I love it! The seat is comfortable, it rides smooth and gets the job done quickly without scalping my "rolling" lawn.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor

PostedMay 14, 2012
Sid4442
from Gray, La
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had it for 2 months and it is by far the best lawn tractor that I have ever had. It cuts so level my lawn looks like a putting green. It is everything that it is advertise to be. The tight turning radius is great going around corners. The Hydrostatic drive is smooth forward and in reverse. It is powerful and good on gas. So far I cannot find any faults with this mower.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Used it for 12 hours and its broken

PostedMay 6, 2012
rbrenny
from Brunswick, OH
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
I bought this mower and thought I was getting a good product. It reviewed well and came highly recommended from friends and family. First couple of uses I was pleased. It cut well, ran good and started easily. That was until today. Four (and a half) mowings and 12 hours on the engine, it is broken and unusable. During use, the front left wheel came off and went under the deck. The tire got sliced, the rim got cut and one of the blades is now bent. I was really expecting a better piece of equipment than this. See the picture attached with the steering linkage off and the tire sliced. Why is there not a pin that holds the linkage together if the bolt somehow loosens?
No, I do not recommend this product.
..
+7points
15out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

belts transmission

PostedApril 3, 2012
angry
from beaver dam,wi.
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
bought for health reasons and it always seems like something always goes wrong when you use it .bought at homedepot and wished i would have bought locally for service .
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty good

PostedMarch 9, 2012
miles2go
from louisiana
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had my cubcadet for about 3 years now and the only problems I've had was with the belt slipping off, but the problem was that over time the deck in the front drops. Theirs 2 screws 1 a lock nut and a regular one you have to raise them or tighten them up the deck will level off and i haven't had that problem anymore.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Drive belt slippig

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
DRCM
High Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lots of problems with drive belt slipping off transmission pulley wheel. Damages belt. Local service (Trumbauer's in Quakertown PA) is indifferent and expensive.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Durable and Reliable

PostedNovember 29, 2011
TheHappyMower
from Waynesville, OH
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought my LTX 1045 five years ago to cut my 2 acre yard. Now that it has stood the test of time I feel I can give an accurate review. With five years and over 250 hours on my machine I have had absolutely no problems with it. I have had other mowers of which none have been in the same condition at this point. Usually I am looking for a new mower by this time. This machine is ready for another five years and 250+ hours.
It takes me a little over an hour to mow the 2 acres. My rule of thumb is buy the size tractor that gets it done in one hour or less. The kohler engine is the best I have experienced even on more expensive models.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cub Cadet + Kohler = Ideal Combination

PostedNovember 20, 2011
Dean4Acres
from SouthEast Louisiana
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
I have owned my LTX 1045 since 4/13/2010. Date of manufacture is 4/01/2010. Kohler engine was built 3/10/2010. I live on 4 pretty uneven acres and cut about half (other half is heavily wooded). Upon delivery everything was within spec. However, not every place with zerks had grease. The 2 under the mower deck were properly greased. These two are very hard to get to but annual lube should be just fine. Nothing has been overlooked from an engineering standpoint. Tires are greatly overinflated at delivery; and the instructions tell you that (set 9 in rear/13 front - also Slimed so no issues with minor leaks). Since I hit a lot of junk, I changed the blades along with the oil & filter at start of 2nd season. Dirt gets in the headlight housing but it only affects the appearance. One last hint: After draining the oil and removing the hood, I lifted the front with my tractor FEL. I then changed the blades and lubed without removing the the deck. Makes it much easier. After 2 seasons, it is still brand new in looks and operation.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LTX 1045 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

LTX 1045 disappointment

PostedOctober 3, 2011
MikeB
from North Canton Ohio
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought this LTX1045 in May '11. Tractor handles great. Very disappointed with deck and bagger system. Grass and leaves shoot out from front of deck...really a poor pick-up system. Have to go over yard 3-4 times to pick up leaves, etc. And, bagger is a poor design...grass shoots out of various areas. Overall: wouldn't buy this brand again nor recommend it to a friend.
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>