Customer Reviews for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cub Cadet.

LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor

LTX 1042 Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.067 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
2
13 out of 15(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

TIMED 42 inch deck, DO NOT buy it!

PostedJune 6, 2011
GEORGE
from Cypremort Point, Louisiana
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I love everything about my Cub Cadet except for the timed 42in deck. I have 40 hours total on my mower bought in September, 2009. It has jumped time twice which and tears up the expensive blades. I took it 50 miles to my dealer and had it fixed at the end of 2010. The first time I used it ithis year, it jumped timming again and tore up the blades again. this deck is maded for a golf cource not a normal yard that is in normal shape. When I bought this mower I thought it had a normal deck on it. In recommend other Cub Cadet Products BELOW,, I Would recommend the LTX 1042 with a normal deck. You cannot go wrong then. Thanks, GEO
 
My product recommendations
LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
4.1 out of 5(15)
 
 
 
 
 
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

DON'T DO IT!!!!

PostedMay 25, 2011
cowboy
High Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
the blades on this mower has jumped time numerous times, took it to get it fixed. Mowed 2 more time's and once again back to the shop. But this time it broke the deck spindles, blades are tore up, belts are shot. Not trying to run anyone away from buying a cub cadet, just don't buy this model.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

NOISEY!!!!!!!!!

PostedOctober 18, 2010
nocubforme
i HAD NO IDEA HOW NOISEY THIS MACHINE WOULD BE.
I do use headgear to help with this problem. My son was here for a few days and asked me not to mow the lawn due to its noise level.
Is there a different muffler that would help me?
Thank you.
+2points
17out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is the best for the money

PostedMay 22, 2012
SilverWolf
from Stanley, North Carolina
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
My Cub Cadet was delivered by Lake Norman Tracker out of Huntersville, North Carolina. They showed me all about about the mower and and how to keep it up. The 20hp single Kolher engine runs as smooth as the two v-twins I had before. It cut so good that I forgot how easy it could be and how good the cut could look. My old John Deere is no match to this Cub Cadet in mowing and all the fixes the JD needed all the time. I took 1 star away because of the extra slow speed of reverse. Cutting in reverse is a joy with the Cub Cadet REV TEK Reverse Technology System. The high back seat, hour meter, oil pressure, battery, brake and transmission lights are a big plus along with a covered glove box, net under dash and cup holder.
A big thumbs up for this purchased with a 3 year warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

so far so good

PostedAugust 21, 2011
lawnguy1
from northern minnesota
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I am on month 5 of my new cc. so far so good. Its more than enough for my property in northern minnesota. The only complaint I have is it leaves grooves in the somewhat sandy soil, especially around trees. I started to do those by hand with the push mower. It is also kind of a pain to always have to turn the key to mow in reverse.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Really Good Tractor

PostedOctober 1, 2010
SaintsFan
from Westminster, CO
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this tractor about two months now and have put about 10 hours on it. Turning is great, really comfortable, and the hydro-stat is really easy to use. It is a little loud, but this is my first lawn tractor so that may be normal. Also, getting used to the whine from the hydro-stat takes a little getting used to as well, but I here from a lot of people that the whine is normal. I purchased the mulch kit for my tractor. Make sure you check with cub cadet first before you order. I ordered one from home depot and it was the wrong kit. Also, it doesn't seem as if the mulch blade cuts as well as the stock blade. It is a new blade, so I am not sure if I need to get it sharpened or not. Cutting with the stock blade, you could have the tractor going full speed and it wouldn't miss a blade of grass. Even going at about half speed with the much blade I am not getting as clean of a cut. That is the only reason I dropped it one star. Really easy to use and I love the hour meter which a lot of other tractors do not have.
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We love our Cub Cadet!

PostedJanuary 13, 2012
LuvMyCubCadet
from Georgia
Age: 35-54
Gender: female
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Our Cub Cadet reduces our yard maintenance time drastically. The turning radius is fabulous! We also got the bagger since we have an tremendous amount of leaves. So far, the only negative is how quickly the bagger fills with leaves. My husband and I both use the mower and love it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower on the market

PostedJune 19, 2011
jbug
from Mississippi
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The LTX1042 is the best built and best mowing mower I have used. I traded in a 10 year old MTD Yard Machine. I looked at a Troy Built Horse, John Deere, Husqvarna, Huskee and even used the new Allis Chalmers by Briggs & Stratton before chosing the LTX1042.
The LTX1042 was by far the best built and best value for the money. The Kolar engine is a smoothier and quiter running engine than a B & S. The mower does not throw grass or dust on the driver or the mower like most others. It also mows and mulches much better than any other mower I have used. The padded steering wheel and big high back seat (cover in a waterproof duct material instead of plastic) makes it a pleasure to use. The 12 inch turning radius will let you turn on a dime and gives you back some change.
The only recommendation that I would like to make to Cub Cadet is the grease fittings on the mower blade spindle assembly needs to be fitted with a tube and move the alimites to the outer edge of the deck so they can easily and readily be services.
I am proud I chose a Cub Cadet.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ONLY MY LAWN WILL BE GREEN FROM NOW ON

PostedMay 12, 2011
Hunter
from Coal City, IL
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best deal on the market. I wanted a Green one-JD, but after a serious comparison of options, comfort, convienence features, appearance, performance, and warranty.......the JD was out numbered and off the list. I am truely happy with my purchase and look forward to mowing once again. No bogging down, no missed strips, and great manueverability make this mower a great deal for anyone.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Wonderful Mower!

PostedMay 4, 2011
Aim35
from Ohio
Age: 35-54
Gender: female
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
We have owned the previous version of this mower for about 4-5 years. It is powerful, reliable and cuts well! We love it!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfection

PostedApril 26, 2011
Rejackson21
from Spring Hill, TN
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this model in 2008. Today it still runs like its brand new. I am 6'2" and about 290 lbs and the powerful 20hp hydrostatic Kohler engine has no issues pulling me around hilly terrain. As a new homeowner at the time I did not have the cash to spend repairing a mower every summer. This model has been 100% dependable. Rugged steel, tough design, and a warranty that can't be beat; I couldn't be more pleased with my decision to go with Cub. I am currently looking for an upgrade to a zero-turn now that we are financially more stable and I am getting a Cub without a doubt. My trusty 1042 will keep on cutting, just in my fathers yard. He has been envying it for years and I am giving it to him!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Super Mower

PostedApril 15, 2011
Greenling
from Oregon
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had this for two mowing seasons and it has been great. It is louder then a regular lawn mower but it also has a much larger engine. The hydrostatic transmission is easy to use and smooth. It has a very high qualty cutting deck and cuts easily. If you are thinking about a riding mower do your homework, I talked to several people I knew that had different brands and they all said that the one they bought had a cheap cutting deck and they had to replace it after the first or second year due to rust and corrision. The deck on this mower is one of the biggest selling points.I've mowed two acres a couple of thims a week with no problem. Just keep it clean and do the routine maintance.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great power

PostedApril 5, 2011
Bobinpow
from Powhatan, VA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I traded up from a 10 year old Craftsman with a 15hp Kohler to the 1042. What a differance! The power and cutting performance are unbelievable. I had no idea what I have been missing.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome!

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Nate
from Ohio
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I hve used this for the last couple of years and couldn't be more happy! At the time I bought it, it had the tightest turning radius of any riding lawn tractor. Ofcourse, now Craftsman has a tighter radius, but I find the turn radius on this thing to be plenty tight. I have yet to find myself wishing for a tighter turn radius. I love the ease of use of the hydrostatic engine and it has ore than enough power to mow my acre of land. Yeah, it's loud, but it's a lawn tractor...it's supposed to be. I haven't noticed it being any louder than any of the other mowers I have used, or louder than anyone else's in my neighborhood. Truly a great piece of machinery that I can't say enough good things about!
+14points
15out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1042 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Reliable

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Robby
from Michigan
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this rider about 5 years ago and I have almost 65 hrs on this machine, VERY reliable, never had to change a belt, strong engine, comfortable seat and steering wheel, I don't know what the other guy was talking about how its too loud, but i think it is normal for any rider. I did add a light switch because the lights seem to drain the battery and it can't charge it self fast enough, the battery lasted until this summer so I think that was better than expected. I even mow shooting lanes for deer hunting with this machine, cuts tall weeds with no problem. Great machine!
+23points
25out of 27found this review helpful.