Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor

Cub Cadet LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor

LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
6
25 out of 36(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

not happy

PostedAugust 31, 2012
willjlyn
from baton rouge,La.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
My cub cadet ltx1040 is 5month old and has 12 hrs on it-The belt has fell off twice,
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Totally dissapointed in quality and service.

PostedJune 18, 2013
Coltgunman
from Birmingham, Alabama
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Had this mower just over 3 years, only 81 hours on it. Right at the end of warranty had to replace a spindle, it came back from the "authorized service dealer" with the blades out of time. (having a deck with a timing belt a totally bad design) Now, with 81 hrs (a lot of which is just the motor running), the whole deck shakes and makes so much noise the whole neighborhood can hear it. Based on this particular model year, I would NEVER recommend a Cub Cadet to anyone. Hoprfully they have improved the deck design, but that doesn't help my situation.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great mower for price.

PostedMay 6, 2014
Jared
from North Pennsylvania
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Just started 2nd year with mower bought it half way through last season. Runs good, deck sits a little low i have to use the third setting from top so i don't scalp my yard. Changing the oil is easy its nice they included a hose so oil can be drained into a jug. I like to be able get off my mower to pick up sticks and what not when going around the yard so i removed the sensor from the seat and ran tape around it to hold the switch down, easy fix. Everybody on here says backing up is a pain, well for at least last years model not true. While your mower is running turn your key back to the yellow spot and push the reverse button, now leave it there the whole time you mow and all you have to do is put your shift lever to reverse. No more screwing with the mower shutting off because you forgot to turn your key back and push the button. The only other thing i need to fix is the headlights when i get around to it i will just put a switch in i think it looks dumb having them on unless your gonna be on the road (which i don't do). I wish the front weighed more when i turn on hills the front will not turn until the tractor is flat again. Last thing is it needs more aggressive rear tires, i get stuck almost every time i mow and have to rock myself quick to get unstuck. All in all a good mower i probably just push it harder than i should for something this size.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

it works

PostedJune 21, 2014
mow45983klfdw65vb
from Baton Rouge
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
very easy to start and operate, cut grass amazing without no problems, do not see why folks are bashing this machine, will up date if I have a promblem
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

wow=hill climber,very safe

PostedSeptember 26, 2010
marko
from kc,mo area
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Under 1/4 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
i needed a mower that had the 4 rollers on deck for positive cutting= climb a steepyard ,i weight 240lbs and it took me up a very steep inclined yard no problem=any speed =did it,s job very impressed with power of the mower and threw the grass 8 ft too my neighbors liking ,sorry no mulcher set up yet .i was sick and grass got high several times like 9-12inches tall cut it like butter=amazed and the blades cut smoothly of grass clippings. i was impressed of fuel consumption.starts up very easy,runs smooth/powerful motor.=couldn,t be happier with this mower.we looked at alot of new and used and cub cadet was our choice,very glad we did.Thanks for a great metal deck and mower set-upi like all the safety features on this mower as well.
+90points
94out of 98found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

PostedJune 28, 2011
midnite
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I reviewed "many" riding mowers and the Cub Cadet won hands down with long term QUALITY and I am very happy with my Cub Cadet. the main complaint I noticed with the Cub Cadet customer reviews was cut height and uneven cutting in a turn...... well simply laying down on the ground to adjust the deck at the upper points where the cables connect will cure that problem. I adjusted the deck and found the cut was SUPERIOR to any other mower. all I did was adjust the mowing deck to the upper holes of the arms under the deck and it cuts nice and EVEN.
+23points
24out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor deck no help for bad design

PostedApril 2, 2012
dppcub
from Virginia
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
2009 model has a timing belt that will jump off the gears. When it does the blades crash together destroying the blades and the blade pulleys break costing you a lot of money. They knew they built a lemon and redesigned the deck the next year. No help to us who bought a better name mower only to have to spend hundreds of dollars each time a blade hits something bigger than a blade of grass.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect fit for my lawn

PostedMay 2, 2011
JoeyD
from Newburgh, NY
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased this machine through Home Depot online back in late March 2011. Being in the Northeast, I did not get to use it right away, but I was very anxious to see how it performed. After waiting a couple of weeks, I got my wish, and the 1st time that I used it, I could tell that this machine was what I wanted and needed for my yard. My front yard is for the most part flat, but my backyard is not. About half of my backyard is about a 10 degree slope, and the machine handled it without a problem. I love the fact that I don't have to shift, and I also love the fact that the deck has a smart jet clean system. And as my yard also has a few trees, the tight turning radius is just a dream. It didn't take me long to figure it all out, and after using it 3 times now, I can tell you that the machine does not bounce all over the place, and that the deck is definitely not light-duty. Also, the deck was easy to take off as I just put on the mulching kit. I plan on checking to see if it sucks down gas, but from what I can tell right now, it doesn't. As a side note, the adjustable seat gives my 13 yr old son the chance to use it, too, and I think that he can't wait to try it because I can see it in his eyes, but I keep telling him that I have to finish "playing". :>
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

We Highly Recommend LTX1040

PostedMay 16, 2012
Santaklutz
from Lansing Michigan area, Mid Michigan
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We Highly Recommend LTX1040.
2012 Model is the Best Ever. This is a Powerful and FUNTASTIC Riding Mower. We call it a Tractor. Even the Reverse Mow is a 5 star added feature along with the Deck Wash ! Wow! Plus the cruise control is nice and the deck height adjustments is great for a perfect mow. We Recommend ear plugs or ear muffs. Lots of Sound Power when PTO is engaged. The Funny thing. You have to slow down if you buy the mulch blades and mulch plug kit. Or you Will leave Cow Clump Droppings of Grass . The 2 in 1 blades that comes with it work fine but we wanted the mulch setup and added that ourself. Then the discharge shoot is not in the way.Very Happy and It out ranks the Troy Bronco and the Risky Craftsmans. This IS a Top Quality mower and the Kohler engine DOES beat out the Briggs. Easy Access to change oil, plug, air filer. Even Adding gas is just like a car and the Auto trans makes it ride like one. Like the start up battery voltage readi and it also HAS an Hour Meter! Lots of high priced extras that others don't have. Even has adjustable seat with a lever. 1 2 3 and you have the right feel and Fit. Forget the Other Brands. This IS the One with the Right Stuff ! 8 mows and counting and NO Problems ~2 acre lot ! It's Top Quality.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

must get to know it

PostedMay 10, 2011
expatohio
from Westchester County NY
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
In spring 2009 I purchased from a dealer that also services the product--a must for me. I mow 30,00 sq ft of mostly flat lawn and now have 35 hrs on the engine and can evaluate its performance. Very sturdy construction. Excellent turning radius for a non-zero-turn machine; although tires due dig into the soil on sharp turns on wet or dry soil. Speed control (gas pedal) is a great feature as I'm not able to use the "cruise control" with any kind of regularity. The 42" deck does not mow evenly on turns, must watch out. Changing oil is a real challenge due to the location of the discharge plug....need to improvise a hose to keep from spilling the oil. I find I'm cutting on the highest two mowing setting all the time....I can't imagine who cuts on the lower setting unless your cutting a golf course....I would appreciate more flexibility with the cutting height. While all this might be knit-picking they are me observations with the mower. Having said that, overall I am satisfied with the product.
+20points
22out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

first cub cadet

PostedJuly 10, 2011
outofmyway
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
had all the features I wanted. tried it and worked very well on my lawn like the tight turn radius and the back up mow feature. worked well over tree roots and hill angles. now down side. bold fell out of fwd reverse linkage tried to see how to reattach the linkage but no help from the manual no exploded veaw to see how to attach. also beleave missing bolts under seat. other than that so far so good.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

One tough mower ...

PostedAugust 2, 2011
TwistedBranchRanch
from North Central Indiana
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I've had my CC for a full season now (50hrs). I've been through 2 blades with each having been sharpened 3 times on my bench grinder. Last week was the latest when I hit a stump and stripped the star on both the spindle and the blade. Right now that blade is still operating.
I've removed the mower deck so many times I could work at the CC repair shop. I've held the deck to the frame with bolts and wire until I could take it apart and fix it right and I've buried it in the mud too many times to count.
On a regular basis I chop wood with it and I chop dirt (I call it small scale grading) and I've chopped up some interesting stuff along the road frontage of my property, too.
Sounds like abuse, doesn't it ? Well ... I live in the woods. 60 acres of certified forest to be precise. My "lawn" includes both sides of a 1/4 mile driveway (of which I mow both sides to keep the forest from creeping in), it includes 1/2 mile of roadway frontage, too. Maintaining my "lawn" is a weekly battle of reclaiming it from Mother Nature. Any time it gets over 6" tall She throws new branches and stones and and rocks and dirt mounds in there to test my patience - and my mower's capabilities. I've even cut a trail into the forest so my wife can ride her horses - one cut in and one cut coming back out is the perfect width for a horse trail.
I can't count the times I've gone from forward to reverse and vice versa nor the times I've "accidently" killed the motor at high throttle nor the trees, stumps, boulders and walls and holes in the ground I've "accidently" run into, over or through. I've lost 6 bolts just from the engine cover. I'll buy the right bolts (and some spares) when I have time to get into town to the CC dealer.
I'll buy an oil filter and an air filter and a gas filter while I'm there, too, cause I expect this machine is going to be around a while.
This is one tough mower.
+32points
37out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very nice features

PostedFebruary 7, 2011
Romeo
from New Windsor
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Under 1/4 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brought the 1040 series and out of the box it preformed great. Logged in about 16 hrs already and it still cuts sharp. Wanted to but the snow blower attachment, but it is too costly. Haven't used the mulching blades yet still have to figure it out.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A good solid machine

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Dave
from Clarks Summit, PA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I've had the lawn tractor since the beginning of summer when our lawn care person kept blowing us off. Right off the bat I was happy with the way it performed. Runs well, no hiccups, enough power to tackle the acrea na a half of lawn on our property. So far the only above and beyond maintenance has been installing the mulcher kit, and replacing a bent mulcher blade after hitting a higher than expected tree root hidden in some high grass. All in all so far it's run without a hitch. For those thinking of getting one, you can't beat the quality for the price. I look forward to it serving the household for many a year to come.
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Basic product excellent

PostedJune 3, 2011
geezer
from Lexington, KY
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The first time was a learning experience. Did a good job. I bought a mulching attachment. Mistake! The first problem came when I tried to loosen the bolts holding the blades. My neighbor and I almost gave up. They must have been tightened with an impact wrench. Not necessary to be that tight. The instructions were at the best vague. Need more pictures and better directions. Finally started cutting the grass. It didn't mulch anything. Left big clumps of cut grass. Took baffle off. at least cuttings were even
+9points
11out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Just what my wife wanted

PostedApril 28, 2011
DaddyJas
from Covington, LA
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Took my wife to pick out my first lawn tractor. Salesman convinced her that Kohler was the way to go. She took the first test ride and now cuts our 1/2 acre most times herself. Strong, smooth tractor with a fantastic turning radius. The grass is smooth and the shrub pulling/removal power is saving a lot of sore back work. Don't know how we gardened for 40 years without it. And, the grand kids love a ride in their red wagon behind Papa's tractor. Life is good.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor design

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Anonymous
from North Carolina
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
The product does handle very well and mows pretty good however the lights remain on at all times with no light switch and if you rinse off the mower after you finish mowing the headlights are so poorly designed they feel with water and it will shoot your headlight bulbs when you start the engine. The safety switch built into the seat is a constant problem. You must arrange yourself perfectly to get the lawnmower to run correctly. Even if and position correctly as you go along if you hit a bump the engine will start cutting out. This is unbelievable annoying.
+11points
14out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor for Price!

PostedSeptember 22, 2012
HonestAbe
from Vineland, NJ
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highest quality tractor company out there. It is a great tractor and no problems so far after a use of a year.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

PostedMay 27, 2011
shider
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good product dependable seems to be worthwhile seems to be adequate
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LTX 1040 Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Most disappointing mower ever

PostedMay 13, 2013
TNTONY
from Murfreesboro, TN
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I purchased a LTX 1040 about 3 years ago and I have about 75 hours on it. I've had to replace the PTO belt 4 times and the drive belt once. I been plagued with oil leaks and the vibration has caused parts to fall off and the bolts to completely back out of the exhaust. twice The bolts holding on the front of the hood have come off twice and and I finally replaced them with bolts and nuts drilling thru the hood. Wouldn't start once and the electrical lead to the bottom of the carb had broken off. The quality of this mower is horrible. I purchased Cub Cadet based on brand name. Boy was I fooled,
+10points
13out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>