Customer Reviews for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cub Cadet.

SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor

SLTX 1054 Lawn Tractor. Image may not reflect dealer inventory and/or unit specifications.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Great Tractor Disappointing Engine

PostedJune 16, 2011
Johnnie1
from Southern Tier of NYS
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought this tractor in March, it now has 6 hours on it, and has spent the last three plus weeks in the shop.
Tractor itself turns on a dime, mows great, and mows in reverse which is a great feature.
The 26hp Kohler engine, however, has disappointed me-it smoked on even the slightest of inclines and has had to have a side hill kit installed as apparently this engine is meant to mow flat yards only?! This is very disappointing and really does Cub Cadet a dis-service for this tractor which is otherwise great.
I hope that Kohler steps up for the tractor companies and makes appropriate changes instead of trying to save some money by leaving off parts that are pretty critical at least for a typical yard in my area of NYS.
If the engine is prepared for side hills then this is a tractor I would highly recommend.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

LOOKS NICE BUT 54" DECK Should BE DESIGNED BETTER

PostedMay 31, 2011
Bruins2011
from New York State
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had my new model 1054 Cub Cadet for 3 weeks. It looked very nice and was confortable when I sat on it. I have already brought it back to the Dealer because the Mower Belt has came off on 3 different occasions.The problem is the 54" mowing deck. When you engage the PTO the deck vibrates and moves left to right. The belt looks very loose and when you shut off the PTO mower engagement the belt looks like it will fall off because it is so loose. The Dealer says these issues are normal for the 54" Deck.I would had purchased a smaller deck if nown about these issues.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I'll be honest here, I was a bit disappointed...

PostedMay 9, 2011
ZeroTurnTank2CubTractor
from ohio
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As anyone knows in the mid-west it was a wet spring, I mowed with the ZT Cub Tank for the first time 3 weeks ago, then bought the SLTX to get a better ride and traction. I would say the ride is very nice compared to the ZT. But, the deck didn't go high enough to handle the thick wet grass. Specifically, the tractor stalled out and shook violently on 3 different times. It did not run at a high enough RPM's like the ZT to handle the wet grass. THERE IS A BIG DISTINCTION IN COMMERICAL ZT vs the SLTX, but I thought top of the line LT would work for me. I wish there was more space in this so I could write more. Could only mow about 6-8in at a time in a single pass with grass 8-10in. remowed again because of patches. Took more gas too and time
+4points
8out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Try the 1050 instead

PostedAugust 15, 2011
rick14
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My first Cub Cadet, and I really like the quality. Mows great on the flat, lawn has never looked better! My only complaints are that it lacks power on the slope, and the cleanouts do not work as advertised. Apparently the cleanouts are a marketing gimmick, it does not remove enough grass from the underside of the deck. Still need to scrape by hand every other mowing. Maybe it would work better on the smaller 50" deck. Another reason to consider the 1050 is perhaps there would be better engine performance on a slope if it wasn't powering the larger 54" deck. I will say that my dealer was great! With my initial dissatisfaction, they were willing to take the mower back w/ full refund after the first use. But after some thought, I opted to keep it for the shorter mowing time I was getting on the flat with the larger deck. Just wish the cleanout would work as advertised.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very nice

PostedJune 14, 2011
Oliver
from Chippewa Falls, Wi
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
We got a 1054 late last year (only used it twice) The Club Cadet has a 50" cut and it has cut our cutting time in half. (Our old mower had a 42" cut) It is way more comfortable, smother and quiterI would like to see the deck redesign to deck to make it easier to clean both under and on top. Different gauges would also be a plus.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Happy Cub Cadet owner!!

PostedOctober 9, 2011
HappyCubowner
from East Central Indiana
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Don't put it off any longer. Run, do not walk to the nearest dealer and get the Cub Cadet that you deserve.
I am so happy to have finally bought what I should have got years ago.
I have been through 3 other lawn mowers and none of them have done near as well as my new Cub Cadet and I have only mowed 3 times with it. I mow nearly 3 acres and I have some hilly area and several trees.
With the hydrostatic drive it makes it so much easier than having to change gears.
I also purchased weights, chains and a snow blade.
Thank you Cub Cadet for such an outstanding product!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy..

PostedAugust 6, 2011
Harold196
from Esmond
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I looked around at john deere, craftsman, massey and i looked at this mower.. I googled Cubs tec support and spoke with a tec for over 30 min. about any engine problems , deck problems.. he did tell me that the 2010 models had some engine problems but were fixed for the 2011 models.. I also opted to purchase the extended warranty.. simply because i live way out 30 plus mile from the nearest city..anything goes wrong and Cub will send someone to pick it up, repair it and bring it back..
I've got about 18 hours on mine so far.. I've had absolutly No Problems at all... Starting , runs like a sewing machine... Mower deck works like its supposed to...
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I am a believer

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Mike
from Maryland
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
After long being a John Deere fan, I decided to shop around one day when it came time to buy a new tractor. After a visit to the local JD dealer (wow, green paint is expensive anymore) I decided at a friend's urging to check out Cub Cadet. I was impressed. My Deere that I've had for many years has a 20 HP engine and a 46" cut so when I bought the Cub I opted for something bigger and got 26 HP with a 54" deck. I was far from disapointed and couldn't believe that 8" of deck width would cut down on my mowing time that much! Unbelieveable. The little tractor is comfortable, handles well, and a pleasure to operate. After a couple of months of ownership I find myself making excuses to use it. I took the deck off my old Deere and use it for towing implements while keeping my Cub for "good". I hope to get many years of use from my new Cub and believe this will probably be the last tractor I'll ever have to buy (I'm 56). I couldn't realistically want more, and I'm the kind of guy that is known to be picky. Steering is a breeze being tight and effortless (almost like power steering), plenty of power, level cut and confortable cloth type seat. Who could ask for more.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great time saver

PostedJune 24, 2011
billy49
from New York
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
Bought May 2011 have put 10 hours on it already does a perfect cut do not have any problems on hills or wet grass only issue is with the 54 inch deck do have a few spots not level so i have to go slow as to not dig into ground other than that perfect machine for my 4 acres.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Buy

PostedMay 1, 2011
NewCubRider
from New Windor, MD
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
Great mower. Lots of power, and the 54" deck makes fast work of my lawn. A lot better mechine then the Craftsman mower it replaced, a lot better than the John Deere my grandmother just got. John Deere is over rated and over priced(trust me I looked very hard at both brands). A added plus is the the 50 anniversary sale prices
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best for your money

PostedApril 11, 2011
No1cubfan
from Wisconsin
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well thought out design with a great transmission by hydro gear and a long lasting motor by kohler put's the JD's in this class to shame
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SLTX 1054 Riding Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent All Around

PostedMarch 2, 2011
wildcat
from Austin, TX
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this a year ago to help keep a 5 acre property. I was a little worried about it not being able to keep up but haven't had a single problem. I haul square bales of hay for my horse, use a drag harrow, spray and seed, haul rocks, and everything else. I thought about buying a compact utility tractor but now I see that as a waste of money. This has been a tough lawn tractor and we use it almost every day. I highly suggest buying one. My only complaint is its not four wheel drive but I guess nothings perfect.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.