Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet RZTsupregsup S 50

Cub Cadet RZTsupregsup S 50

Steering Wheel Zero-Turn Rider
Average Customer Rating:
4.571 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 out of 21(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RZTsupregsup S 50
Review 1 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the best purchases I have ever made

PostedJune 6, 2016
from Northeastern PA.
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I started looking for a mower to replace an older simplicity garden tractor in 2012. I was looking for a faster method to cut my lawn. the 46" deck I had took roughly 2 1/2 hours to cut my lawn due to the way I cut, wasting time not cutting, maneuvering around obstacles. All of the standard problems a non zero turn mower deals with. I really wanted a zero turn but wasn't very keen on the handle bar controls of the zero turns on the market. Then I found the RZT S SERIES from cub cadet.
I decided a zero turn with a steering wheel would be a perfect fit for me. The cub cadet dealer brought one to my house for an at home demo and after 5 mins behind the wheel I was sold. I purchased my RZT S 50 in June 2012 from Jerrys engine repair in Stillwater Pennsylvania and have been happy ever since. They have a very friendly and helpful staff. When I purchased the mower I also bought the bagging system for an extra 499.00.
PROS
Deck wash system. Keeps deck clean. I sharpen blades about every 10 cuts and there will be minor buildup in a couple spots but very little compared to decks without wash system.
Time saved. Old mower 2 1/2 or 2 3/4 hours to cut depending on north to south cut or east to west cut week. Zero turn 1:05 or 1:10 mins. Over half of old cut time saved.
Quality of cut. Always even and looks great.
Ease of maintenance. 6 grease fittings On front assembly. A couple hinge points to quickly oil.
Easy deck removal. 3 pins, take belt off of drive pully and you can drive off of the deck without touching the deck. with my second set of blades I can remove deck change blades and be cutting again in about 10 mins. I usually do have to reposition the deck slightly to put it back on. Haven't mastered driving back on to it yet.
Stability. I have a hill that I would almost have to lean off of old mower to navigate. I can just sit normally now.
CONS
PTO disengaging blades when you use reverse. I believe they have since added an extra key position for reverse so this problem has been solved on newer model of my mower.
Bagging system will clog if grass is wet. It is a headache if you try to bag as you cut if grass is a little on heavy side. It will clog up. I simply cut grass and bag after I cut. Give it a chance to dry out a little after its cut and no issue. Usually by time I finish its dry enough I can start back where I began cutting and have no clogging problems.
Honestly that is the only thing I don't like about this mower and it's just a minor inconvinence not really even a mark against it. And the bagging system flaw is more of a bagging issue than a mower performance issue.
I would recommend this mower to anyone and in fact have. My brother in law and 2 of my neighbors have now purchased themselves cub cadet zero turns after trying mine out.
Hopefully this review helps make your descision a little easier if you are looking at the RZT S series.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best value for the money in its class!

PostedMay 26, 2016
from Southeast, Texas
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Of all the riding lawn mowers I've ever used... Cub Cadet Enduro Series is the funnest, easiest, and best riding mower I've ever operated. The build quality is exceptional. I continue to be impressed through use with there products. You've been doing your research and put the time in.... It's time to make the decision and get a Cub. It's the last riding lawn mower you'll eve need.
 
My product recommendations
 
 
 
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fast and Easy to handle

PostedOctober 27, 2015
from Pekin, Il.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This mower works good for my hilly 1 acre yard with lots of trees to navigate.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great mower

PostedOctober 21, 2015
from Woodruff,SC
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been greatly satisfied with my new 4 wheel steer mower. I have the RZT S50. It has been fun to drive.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I Own Two !!! Paddle Bar & Streering Wheel.

PostedSeptember 8, 2015
from Missouri Ozarks
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Both 50's.....each excellent ,rugged, dependable Machine's.
This was a bad year for mowing in the mid-west, with lots of rain & thick fast growing grass that wouldn't dry out. You couldn't ask for a better test for a mower.
The difference in both fits a need....the steering wheel model is more stable, mows hills & is more intuitive, and much more comfortable for your arms. The paddle bar is a bit faster & perfect for a clear,flat area with no obstructions. I mow over 4 acre's of both level & hilly land, including a small orchard. These mower's are dependable & the build Quality is excellent.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedSeptember 7, 2015
I have to recommend that they come back with the cyclo cut system deck they cut better than the signature cut system.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product does everything I need in a mower!

PostedAugust 17, 2015
from Paducah, Kentucky
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have been very pleased with my Cub Cadet which I purchased at Don's Lumber in Greensburg, Kentucky. It has all the features one could want or need in a lawn mower. Thanks Cub for providing an excellent product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedJuly 13, 2015
from Appomattox, VA
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new RZT S50 is everything I expected and mower!! Best lawn mowing machine I have ever owned. Perfectly engineered for my needs making lawn mowing a fun experience. I have used it for more than a month now, and I find it easy to handle, giving a beautiful even cut across all the flat and uneven areas of my lawn. It has plenty of power and I really like to be able to choose to cut in reverse thank you!! I love it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Mower Ever

PostedJuly 9, 2015
from Jenkinsville, SC
Age: 35-54
Gender: female
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is my 3rd Cub Cadet riding mower I've purchased. The first two were bought at "big box" stores. I purchased this one from a local dealer, which allowed me to test drive this one as well as a lap bar zero turn mower it before I purchased it. I've never been able to do that at a "big box" store, so I would highly recommend buying from a local dealer.
This mower has EVERY feature that I need (or wanted) to cut my 2 acres, plus it shaved an hour off my mowing time! It is very comfortable and easy to drive. I didn't have to 'learn' how to use it like I would have if I got a zero turn mower with the lap bars.
This mower zips around my yard and leaves a great cut. I'm loving this mower and wish I would have bought it sooner.
We also purchased a new Cub Cadet ST 100 wheeled/walk behind string trimmer. This is a great alternative to the normal string trimmers and is so much easier on the back. Check those out if you are tired of lugging around a heavy string trimmer.
Lastly, I want to give a big shout out to the guys at R&R Motors, my local dealer in Irmo, SC. Ralph and Bill are the best in the business.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great cut

PostedJuly 8, 2015
from Knoxville, TN.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
the cut is great with my new RZT 50. we mow over 2 acres. my son-in-law rides the RZT 50 and I trim with my I-1046 that I purchased 4-26-09.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good mower for small yard and price.

PostedJune 27, 2015
from Jacksonville, IL 62650, USA
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have had this mower for a month now. I traded in my old John Deere 318 with a 50" deck. I fenced in my yard and had to many small section for a rider but hills that zero turn mowers can't now. This mower has exceeded my expectations on hills. It is also very efficient on fuel. The only down falls I have found are 1- the steering wheel does not tilt out of the way for ease of getting on and off machine 2- it is very slow on turns verses a regular stick riding mower 3- the shell of the deck is wider than my old deck. Also I have found it hard to find add ons like lights,hitch etc.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
from park hills mo.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
this is the best mower I ever had! I wish I would have bought it 14 years ago.it cuts my 2 acre yard in half the time that my yard machine did. very reliable and cuts the lawn even! now I look forward to mowing!
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this mower.

PostedAugust 20, 2013
from NE Ohio
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Was looking to replace a 46" cut garden tractor that I bought used. I've always bought used and finally was able to buy new and did tons of research. I have approx 1 acre as do my neighbors, and 4 of them have cub cadet mowers. Was impressed with warranty and my neighbors endorsements, but the actual mower blew me away. Smooth ride, great cut, and you can't beat zero turn. Between the extra 4" of cut and zero turn, its cut my time in half and didn't have to trim around my trees. So far, this has met and exceeded my expectations and I would recommend this mower if asked.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Positive Reaction

PostedJune 27, 2013
from Slippery Rock, PA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My initial reaction is quite positive. This mower is very comfortable and cuts well. Traction is great on slopes and the maneuverability is easy to the touch and responsive.
I would make 2 suggestions for improvement.
1) Include the Reverse Caution Mode (allows cutting while backing up) currently available on the Z Force S but not on this model. This would be a nice upgrade kit for current production.
2) design the mulch kit cover so that it is held in place by a method other than the deflecter chute so you can lift the deflecter chute up and not have the mulch cover fall off.
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NiceCut

PostedJune 2, 2013
from Murfreesboro ,TN
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Runs and cuts great only got 5hrs on it so far. Seems to do well can cut mine and my neighbors grass in less time then before I bought my RZT-S 50
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very unreliable

PostedMay 3, 2013
from Brazil In.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only 39 hours on this machine and it has been in the shop three times. It is only one year old. First time was for a PTO problem. The blades would not engage. Then I had a series of belt problems.
When it runs it is a good mower, The problem is that it is not running enough of the time to keep the grass down.
Very poor reliability. I would not recommend.
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

GOOD

PostedApril 15, 2013
from Gonzales, LA.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
I like the mower but after 16 hrs the deck drive belt broke which hopefully was a defective belt and not a harbinger of things to come.
I have cut my mowing time in half and it is really enjoyable to operate.
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedMarch 30, 2013
from Medina Tennessee
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What a great machine. I researched for months comparing different models of zero turns before making the decision to purchase the RZT S50. I am really pleased with the steering wheel. Makes handling so much easier I almost forget I am on a zero turn. This has cut my mowing time considerably. Giving me more time in the garden!
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

This product is lacking in some features..

PostedAugust 24, 2012
from Como, Ms
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I really do like the 50 inch cut anfd the zero turn, it cuts my mowing time in half.
But the deck is impossible to keep level, it needs a better way to level it. It also gets so hot at the muffler that if you stop for any amount of time you burn the grass. I noticed this after the first time that I cut the grass it had left burnt spots every where that I made a about face to make another pass....
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RZTsupregsup S 50
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to use...

PostedApril 4, 2012
from Rushville, IL
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife and I recently moved to a house that is on about an acre and a half next to a lake. We received a lawn tractor with the house. Well, it was completely inadequate in being able to handle the hills. I went online and looked around to find a zero turn mower. I saw the RZT 50 and headed to a Cub Cadet dealer to try it.
After talking to the dealer about the terrain I was going to be mowing, he suggested the RZT S. The next day, he brought both mowers to my house to try. While the RZT 50 was capable of handling the hills, the RZT S 50 was able to handle them much like a 72" JD commercial mower I used to run. It was astonishing the amount of power that it had and the handling.
My favorite part, of course, is the fact that I've cut my mowing time by 2/3rds and trimming down as well with the zero turn.
The only Negative aspects of the mower are marginal. While traveling sideways on slight inclines, you must do so with blower side down or you tend to slide a bit and the ride is not quite as smooth as some might like.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>