Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet RZTsupregsup S 42

Cub Cadet RZTsupregsup S 42

RZTtrade S 42 Zero-Turn Rider
Average Customer Rating:
4.538 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
12 out of 13(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RZTsupregsup S 42
Review 1 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Waited - Studied - Purchased - Very Satisfied

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Happy
from North Carolina
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Took over a year to finally buy the RTZ. I researched the web, read other reviews, went to the big box (HD) store and independent dealers and asked questions. The independent dealer I purchased from let me ride around on the mower -- something I couldn't do at HD. I had the mulch kit installed. Haven't had a problem with the blades stopping when going in reverse -- got used to it. Fun to mow with this machine. I used to borrow my neighbor's lawn tractor and find the RZT has much better traction and much more control on hills. It is loud because the engine is not covered and is right behind the seat so I use ear protection headphones and listen to music while I mow. I have about 20 hours on my RZT now and it runs perfectly. I'd buy it again and recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine

PostedAugust 30, 2014
ranger293
from Apollo, PA
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cut, fantastic control, great power, does not clump. Love my ZTRS. Now had it for 2 years. It's a winner.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love the steering and power

PostedJune 25, 2014
Mowing2acres
from Poplar Bluff, Mo.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought from Magee Farm Equipment, Mowed 2 times had trouble turning to right. Called Magee's said bring it in, adjusted steering under warranty. Works great now real joy to mow.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

lawn boss

PostedSeptember 20, 2013
Cdub1
from Winston Salem, NC
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought my RZTs 42 spring of 2013. I'm very satisfied with the speed and quality of the cut this mower provides. A well built machine. On top of that, it's fun to ride and I actually look forward to mowing!
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

very impressed

PostedAugust 30, 2013
cubrztsfan
from washington pa
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have a residential yard with some pretty steep hills that I used to cut with a gt2542 that was a great tractor but always felt top heavy and at least half the time I was nervous. I sold it for half what I paid 8 years later which is impressive and says a lot for cubs. I decided that the rzt s that says for hilly terrain had to be safer with the lower center of gravity? Boy was I right it is so impressive I can turn around in the middle of the hill and go back up without any fear. The 22 hp motor is crazy powerful. I wrote this to give back to the cub engineers for giving me peace of mind. If your wanting something for residential hills I doubt you could do better thanks cub cadet I for one am a very happy customer!
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

1st Cut - Very Impressive

PostedJune 6, 2013
PJNJ
from NJ
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My old Scotts Rider died, 16HP 42" and so it was time for something new. Got the RZT S42 last night and went to work. I feel I just went from a toy to a commercial machine. Could not believe how quickly I could move while cutting with no degradation of cut quality and grass was fairly high. The turning is going to take some getting used to. Seems if you try to U-turn too severely it almost comes to a stop so better to turn just enough to hit the next row. Around shrubs and walls it was amazing. So bottom line is that I think I reduced my mow time by almost 33% - I wasn't expecting that. This thing's a beast compared to my old rider. It doesn't seem to strain no matter how deep and thick the grass and the cut I got was head and shoulders neater than my old trusty rider.
2 issues I do have. The black plastic shoot where the grass comes out is too big. I had a couple of spaces I couldn't get into and it was tough getting into the shed. My old mower was the same width so that is disappointing. I am going to install the mulch kit anyway and that will come off. Secondly it is very loud. No cover over the engine and the mower deck really howls. I guess that is the price for the power. I can't wait to mow again.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing product

PostedMay 18, 2013
Shopcub
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got the mower today! Mowed my lawn right away! Usually takes me two or more hours and it took a little less then 48 minutes! Turns nice and smooth and doesn't tear grass like the old mower! I would recommend this product to everyone!
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product..................

PostedMay 17, 2013
thomas51tx
from Montgomery, texas
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just bought this machine last week and have only used it once but """ WOW """. It does everything I hoped for and more. I have a little less than 1/2 acre mostly flat to mow. With the old self propelled Toro it took me about 1 1/2 hours to get it all. With my Cub it took me 48 minutes start to finish. Took over an hour to trim and blow clippings so that is now the hardest part of the job.
I love the gas pedal which gives you instant speed control and needless to say the zero turn is worth every penny. During my research phase I borrowed my neighbors 38" Bolens tractor to check it out and ended up with a lot of scalped areas. My new Cub cut it all and it looked just like the walk behind result. Didn't bother with any attachments yet like the mulching kit I was thinking about. The regular cut was so good I had no clumping and no need for a mulching kit. The grass was very high from all our rain in last few weeks and was at least 6 to 7 inches high. Knocked it down like a champ.
The thing that bothered me most was all the negative reviews about not cutting in reverse. I can say that I only had to back up 1 time and it made no difference at all. With zero turn if you cant cut your whole yard without backing up you didnt plan your attack correctly.
Only time will tell if it holds up like I hope it will..................
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Finally!! Someone got it right

PostedApril 10, 2013
Ztrider
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is what a zero turn mower has always supposed to have been. The steerable front wheels work great on hillsides and the steering wheel makes for a very intuitive experience. It just goes where you want it to without all the lapbar learning curve...and panic mistakes. Why would anyone even want a regular garden tractor or conventional zero turn?
Kudo's to the entire Cub team for an excellent execution of a superb product.
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Saves time and makes the yardwork enjoyable

PostedAugust 27, 2012
bornintheburgh
from Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is really a great product. Just bought mine in May '12 and can't believe the time it saves me. I look forward to cutting grass. It's great on Westen Pennsylvania hills, provides a clean cut with nice lines and runs like a champ. My yard looks spectacular after a fresh cut.
The steering wheel on a zero turn is brilliant. I've never thought I could own a riding lawn mower with so much maneuverability and ease of use.
I really like the deck wash system and the tractor is just really comfortable to drive. I'd recommend this product to anyone - and already have to a few neighbors.
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cuts good works great

PostedAugust 25, 2012
Davehil
from york, pa
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this mower end of May have 11 hours on it. Produces a great cut no grass clumping and everthing works fine
+40points
42out of 44found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Quick, but average to below average cut.

PostedAugust 16, 2013
jimmydanger
from Pa
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I went from a 21" walk behind to a 42" zero turn and it is a lot easier. But, my lawn went from the one of the best looking lawns in the neighborhood to average. I purchased the 42" zero turn thinking I could still get a quality cut, but it is not as nice. Mulching is poor and the cut is uneven. Sometimes I will cut the grass twice and it is still uneven. I'm thinking it's the blades. I thought about getting the $400 bagger, but that will only solve the clipping issue. I will still have an uneven cut.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RZTsupregsup S 42
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Piece of junk

PostedAugust 30, 2014
Tonyb635
from SC
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have the 42" ZRT-S. It has the two blade system. There is about 1/2-3/4 " space between the two blades. Well you can imagine what this does. Yep, it leaves a neat little strip of uncut grass hanging around right in the middle of your cut. This requires you, yes you to double your passes. Might as well just by a 21" mower because that's exact! yep what it is.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.