Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor

Cub Cadet LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor

LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.353 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
0
14 out of 17(82%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Smooth and quiet

PostedApril 23, 2012
Nicelawn
from Illinois
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth operation. It has a really tight turning radious but go slow on those tight turns. My lawn never looked so good. I have owned a JD in the past but this Cub 1042KW is far better. Try to purchase from a Cub Cadet independent dealer rather than a big box store. The independent dealer seems to know what he is selling and will set it up properly.
+42points
42out of 42found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Plenty of Quality Features

PostedMay 14, 2014
OldGuy
from Florida
Age: Over 70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glad to see this item was produced with a PTO Lever in place of the Electric Version. One annoying maintenance / replacement issue eliminated. Made all proper Deck, Steering, Anti-Scalp adjustments before first use. Provides a nice even cut. Plenty of power with a smooth running motor.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

great for bagging grass

PostedApril 3, 2012
appleknocker
from Oregon
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have owned about every mower at one time or another. But this is buy far the best one for bagging damp grass. And I like the mow in reverse mode on the ingnition. Press the button once and mow in reverse at any time. I bought this mower mainly for the four wheels on the deck[ no scalping]. I also wanted the Kawasaki motor. It is by far the best motor on the market. I've wanted a Cadet for some time and with the Kawasaki motor and wheels on the deck I thought it tiime to buy. I believe I just might have bought my last mower.
now for the CONS If you want to remove the deck you will need tools. And there is no way it has a 12in turning radias. Just a heads up so you won;t be disappointed when you start to use it
+45points
46out of 47found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of Best New 1000 series Tractors

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
FlyMan
from Slaughters, KY
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This is probably the best 1000 series tractors on the market. You could pay more for a heavier duty tractor but for someone with 1 acre or less this is the best. I saw where some were having trouble with the deck bearings. This could be a problem with any brand. It is my opinion that if you just blow the grass and dust off instead of washing, the bearings will last a long time. The times that you do wash. make sure water doesn't stand on the deck for an extended period of time. My KW motor is smooth and has lots of power. I purchased the mulching kit and it works great for getting rid of all my leaves and I have a lot of them. I believe that with a little routine maintenance this 2012 model LTX1042KW will last me for many, many years.
+37points
38out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very smart purchase!

PostedOctober 7, 2012
philliephan
from Bloomville,Ohio
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just purchased a new LTX1042KW. I've used it just once, so this is a quick review. However, having said that, I will say that I grew up on a farm, always having riding mowers and the such. I personally have had three riders, this being number four. I did alot of research before I replaced my craftsman LT4000 14HP Kohler command. I had a good 19 years with that machine, with some problems over the years. I knew after talking to five different dealers, I wanted the Kawasaki engine. Nobody else offered it. John Deere now has Briggs and Stratton. This machine is so quiet and smooth! No more ear plugs. I mow about an acre, and I didn't even have the throttle near fully open. and yet it cut so smooth, and so even, through somewhat thicker grass. I will report back in time, but I feel real good about my purchase!
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

proud Cub Cadet Owner

PostedOctober 11, 2012
philliephan
from Lykens, Ohio
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great mower! Had Craftsman before, which treated me good, but the Kawasaki twin is a must! Smooth, quiet, and plenty of power. I want to get a bagger for it, as my craftsman bagger won't work. Rev Tech is great, the cruise control doesn't do anything for me, my lawn isn't that big(about one acre).
+13points
14out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great lawn tractor, easy to operate, plenty of pwr

PostedOctober 13, 2013
chrisgue
from Boston, MA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My property is just under 1 acre but the landscape is well kept. I looked at the machines sold at Lowe's and HD but was worried about service and problems if any. After a ton of research, this model had the best reviews with the Kawasaki engine. The price was 1,700, very reasonable, 42" cut with bagger, doesn't clog ( I will cut the lawn when it's wet or dry on setting 4 or 5). I especially like the auto headlight feature. Though I don't mow at night, I was worried switches and moving parts, like a headlight switch, will break over time. But with the lights coming on with the engine running, it's great.
The key switch and push button reverse are an easy feature to mow in reverse.
Mowed the lawn this weekend and noticed it picked up the leaves with ease.
Very happy with the lawn tractor and would highly recommend this model to anyone looking for a new machine.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best mower up and down the market

PostedAugust 23, 2012
49bone
from Chester Va.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
My 2nd Cadet. Gave the 1st to my son after running it 8 years! Never a problem. Cub mowers make cutting grass a ride in the park. I hope my new LTX1042 KW will outrun the old one. It sounds cool and powerful.High back seat and Rev-run option in a winner for cub. This is my old cub after 8 years. My new ones a beaut!!!!
+18points
20out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Price and features

PostedMay 22, 2012
greyhead
from mich
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owned a 1440 tractor for over twenty years I like the durabality the new tractor LTX 1042KW is quiet and great turning radius hope it last as long as the old one
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

LTX 1042 KW

PostedJune 29, 2013
Stever
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a couple of years of looking at lawn mowers..John Deere...Cub cadet..Husquvarna....I finally bought this one at the beggining of the 2013 season......it was a tough decision......but the Kawasaki engine won me over.....I have mowed with it several times and have had good luck with it so far.....the only issue i have are that it turns sharp on you if you over steer it and it has outer tire wear all ready...1/2 the tread is wearing...from turning on driveway....no adjustments can be made on it as far as camber goes....and when bagging ...it tend to toss alot of grass and things out from under the deck.......But love it so far...nice and quite...starts great...cuts great...looks good with Wheelies Mag Hubcaps..its a head turner.....Glad i chose this mower....Hopes this helps in your decision...Thanks Steve
+8points
11out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Everything Great Till….

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
sf77
from Saco, Maine
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smart Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
After extensive research over the winter I finally decided on the CC 1042 KW over other brands primarily because of the Kawasaki engine. I bought it from a local dealer and I've been really happy till the first oil change. First I discovered the drain assembly is plastic, which was a shock. Second the nut that holds the whole assembly in the engine is plastic, too….and loose and dripping a bit of oil. No big deal I thought…I'll just tighten it up a bit. Wrong. There is no way to get the nut without (I'm assuming) a special tool or lifting the engine off the frame. When I finally stood on my head and used a needle nose vise grips the whole assembly turned as well (yes, I tried to hold the drain spout in place). So now the drain spout is turned up. So much for the next oil change. Not to mention the whole process was messy.
I'm a fanatic about maintaining equipment, so ease of maintenance is a BIG deal with me. I cannot wait for other adventures in maintaining this thing, if I keep it. The design of this feature really stinks. At this point I wish I stuck to a brand with a Briggs.
+12points
17out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

This product wont last long term

PostedApril 1, 2012
handyman
from Deville, La.
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I have owned a Cub Cadet LTX1042 for only three years. Last year I noticed the blades were cutting uneven. After removing the deck I found the bearings on one of the blade shafts was wore out and the idler pulley for the blade belt was completely shot. I was very disappointed to find that after cutting for two to three seasons i would have to be rebuilding the deck. In my opinion money would be better spent on another brand.
+28points
45out of 62found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

To costly to maintain

PostedJuly 18, 2013
fredepa
from Mount Holly, NJ
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My tractor hasn't been abused. However, it ends up in the shop every year for hundreds of dollars of repairs. It's in now. This is the last money I am investing in the tractor. Next season when this one dies I will invest in a different brand.
+6points
12out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What a great mower with just a small complaint

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
2ndCub
from Leo, IN
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is our 2nd Cub Cadet. Years ago we had a 2166 (42" Cut Shaft Drive with single cylinder Tecumseh engine). The 2166 was not good at mulching grass until we switched to a 'gator blade' which really helped. After giving that mower to our daughter we bought this in the Spring of 2014. We mow just over 1 acre, including a hill behind our house. The mower is fairly quiet (we still wear hearing protection), runs so much smoother than the 'thumper' single-cylinder we had before, and has plenty of power. The seat, steering, hydrostatic controls are all great. My only complaint is that, with us using the mulching plug, the cut grass tends to blow out the front of the deck. When mowing on a windy day I end up with particles blowing into my face, etc. That has never been an issue on all the other lawn tractors we've had over the years that were set up for mulching. One other comment, we hardly ever have the deck setting much below 2 or 3 clicks from the highest point. I wish there was a way to adjust this to give us more flexibility.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great product but a few downfalls

PostedJuly 21, 2014
RyanH
from Katonah, NY
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
one thing that i dislike on this mower is that when turning tight you have to go slow or else you will tear the grass. My old mower with hydrostatic drive did not do that. The suction from the deck is super it stands the grass straight for cutting.
The buying experience could not have gone better. The employees Arroway Tractor were pleasant and knowledgeable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

New purchase and first use

PostedJuly 12, 2014
insertnamehere
from Portage,WI
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I used my 1042 KW for the first time today. I like it....a lot. This is my first hydro dual pedal mower and what a difference. Makes tough areas to mow so much nicer than having to shift levers. The mower deck sucks. No, not in the bad way but it sucked up everything from the lawn the my old mover wouldn't touch. This is not a bad thing, just the difference in 20 years of technology. The Kawasaki (spelled right?) engine is awesome. Sounds great, runs quieter, smooth, just a great great engine. It's early to tell on how reliable it will be, but first impression and use....I love it. If it all goes downhill I will revise my review but so far I am quite happy. Oh, and I purchased it from a dealer...not a store. Huge difference. Turns out the local dealer is family to one of my larger customers I have at work. Free delivery and willing to pickup with a trailer if I ever need service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX 1042 KW Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Cub Cadet 1042

PostedJuly 3, 2014
shortwave
from Central Mn.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have only had my New Cub Cadet 1042 about a month , and I love it. Plenty of power, nice handling , Does a Great job cutting, couldn't ask for more. I do my lawn and a few neighbors. The tractor is well built. and I like U S Made. and my dealer in Cold Spring is know for their great service. Loren.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.