Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor

Cub Cadet LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor

LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
3.611 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
4
12 out of 18(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Review 1 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Strong, Aggresive Versatile Cutting

PostedApril 14, 2011
CubbyFan
from Clinton Township, Michigan
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
The Cub Cadet puts all other garden tractors I have owned to shame. MTD, John Deere, Sears and Troy Built have not held a candle to the accuracy and cutting radius of the 1050 KH model. Powered by a strong engine, this light wieght mobile tractor disengages the cutting deck with ease freeing up the tractor for mobility of other accesories in lawndscaping and housing care. The accesory cover is great when my shed door is only a 48" oppening, protecting this fine machine from the elements. My Kubota BX24, 54" cutting deck is not worth the manuverability of this 50" deck.
+43points
43out of 43found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Durable,Pulls accessories with ease. Cuts great.

PostedApril 27, 2011
NewownR
from Columbus, Ohio
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I have about 2.5 acres of old farmfields converted to lawn to mow. The Cadet has the power to cut all this grass with ease. It also helps me clear out the old weed and thistle growth. If you have at least 2 acres buy at least a 50" deck. Make sure you get the Koehler engine. You won't be sorry.
Pros: Durable frame, wide deck, starts easily, cleans easily, battery easy to access. Lights are nice. Reverse cut is a wonderful item.
It pulls my garden trailer full of topsoil, rocks, tree stumps easily. I can pull any yard attachment in the back like an aerator. My friends 0-turn can not. I would like to add a snow blade and leaf collector. My 11 year old mows with ease on it.
Cons: My mower deck takes some time to take off and change blades. Not sure what the quick release is all about as mine is a 2010 model. There are 10 mower height settings but I only use 2. There isn't much difference between # 4 to # 8.Nice tool compartment next to seat but could use another.
I would buy another if I had to.
+31points
34out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Dependable Workhorse

PostedMay 13, 2011
SeaboardRR
from Hamlet, NC
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I did a lot of shopping around before I baught my first lawn tractor. I admit, I always wanted a John Deere. However, when I began to look at cost, dependability, dealerships, and ease of use, I baught a Cub. I have had my tractor for three years and it has never let me down. I have about an acre of lawn to mow and I am finished in about 2 1/2 hours--including all the trim work. I love my dealership, Monroe's Small Engine in Rockingham, NC--they have been great to work with for all my needs. I can use different attachments with ease. If you are looking for a good tractor for a good price without all the hype, go with a Cub--you will not be dissapointed.
+27points
30out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fine Product

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Glenn
from Saint Augustine, Fl
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had my LTX 1050 KH for 2 weeks. Very impressed with the easy of use. Same features as my last mower, no learning curve, except for the PTO. Cut is even and clean with plenty of discharge force. The 12" turning radius is very helpful, but keep the speed down, plowing may ocur. In all a very fine product and the price is very competitive.
+22points
23out of 24found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Mower

PostedMay 22, 2012
htg1969
from Floyds Knobs, IN
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently purchased a home with an acre lot and had never owned a riding mower. I did a lot of research and read lots of blogs and decided on the LTX 1050 mower with the Kohler engine. The features and pricing on this unit were far superior to any other comparable riding mower on the market. I'm very pleased with this unit and look forward to many years of service. I also purchased the all metal, 18 cu. ft. tow cart. This is a great combo! I would highly recommend the Cub Cadet to anyone looking to purchase a riding mower and accessories.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I love, love this mower!

PostedMay 28, 2012
Nursejamie
from Kingsport TN
Age: 35-54
Gender: female
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My husband bought this mower to mow our 2/12 acre yard. I do the mowing because he mows over my flowers. (He thinks he is getting out of mowing) ha ha but I love to mow with this mower. It runs great and cuts like a dream!!! The only con I can say is the back tires slip… a lot when going up hill it needs a better tread on the back tires, other then that it’s great!!! Buy one, you wont regret it!!! My yard has never looked better
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of the Best Tractors in Cub Cadet's lineup!

PostedOctober 8, 2012
CubCadetMan
from Barrington IL
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
As a proud owner of my dad's old Cub Cadet - IH 72, I knew Cub Cadet made great tractors to last. But after 44 yrs., technology has changed and so I did a lot of shopping around before I bought my first lawn tractor. I looked at John Deere, Sears, Simplicity and Husqvarna. But when I began to look at the cost, dependability, dealership, service, 12'' turn radius, and ease of use, I settled on the 1050 KH. I had my tractor for 5+ months now and it is nothing but awesome. I have over an acre of lawn to mow and I am finished in about alittle over 2 hours--including all the trim work. My oId dependable took me 4 hrs. I really felt the major influencing factor was my dealership. Ralph Helm Inc. in Crystal Lake, IL was great in answering all my very detailed questions and able offer me a great March Madness price. The dealership owner took time to really help me understand the product with his no nonsense great service. They even adjusted my mover deck without any questions. They were the difference between buying from the Cub over purchasing at Lowes. My only general comment is watch your turns with the 12' radius (which is great), but if you go too fast it could tear up your turf. If you are looking for a great tractor at a very competitive price with solid past reputation, I recommend you buy a Cub--you will not be disappointed.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My LTX 1050 is a very good buy/product

PostedMay 7, 2013
Zeke
from Loxley, AL
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
I purcahsed our LTX 1050 in Dec 2012 and have cut our 2 acres 6 times since. It cranks and runs very well. The way the deck is designed, any cut grass is discharged a good distance from the cutting path and does not accumulate under the deck/discharge shoot. I guess that if I had a complaint, it would be that the Kohler engine is a bit noisy. This does not bother me because I always wear my earmuffs. Great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMay 16, 2013
ralphie
from rives junction, mi.
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
deck had to be completely rebuilt after only 60 hrs. never own another one. spindle and bearings can't be greased.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

poorly built

PostedMay 26, 2013
captchas
from new jersey
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
in 5 seasons and only 135 hours this machine has been a costly one to up keep. lucky for me I was before retiring a auto mechanic.
so far it has had fail 5 deck spindles, 4 deck belts, 2 transmission drive belts, has seasonal problems with hard cranking issues due to exhaust valves that failing to stay adjusted. if they get loose by a few thousands it won't crank properly .it burns oil at about a 1/2 qt every 3 mows of a 1/2 acre lot. suffered wiring issues for the deck. the starter ignition module failed . a pto starter relay 'one that fails to have a listed part number in the parts book" failed. it also needed a new socket to hold it . for this the dealer told me "you need to replace the main harness" lucky Jegs performance lists a mini relay and socket from painless performance with the proper crimp on ends for less then the dealer wanted for just the relay. the hard to get at crimped on 90 deg wire end to the deck reversing switch broke off, at the switch, the fender has rusted clean though at the bolt holes under the decal. and under the foot pads and the deck it self has rusted to where it is on it's last season.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Didn't know I bought a "low-rider."

PostedJune 29, 2013
Munch
from Prince George, VA
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/4 acre to 1/2 acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
This mower is a nice item. I have just only put 6 hours on it so far but I only see ONE major fault. The height of the mower deck when set to it HIGHEST setting is barely 3 inches high. I was going to try to adjust the deck higher but can't because the spindle covers are almost touching the bottom of the mower already. I had to fabricate a spacer on my trailer ramps just to get it loaded/unloaded. It has basically 11 settings on the height adjustment. The deck is on the ground at setting 6. WHY????!!!!!!!
This is a bad design. I have usually 4-5 large lawns to cut about every 10 days. One lawn I have to cut with the deck on the highest setting.
Once the engine is hot, it is occasionally hard to start and the starter locks up. I just have to keep trying and it starts.
I hope your designers/engineers will take a look at these issues and let us know if there is a fix for them. Munch
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not That Great

PostedJune 30, 2013
Anonymous
from Hickory, NC
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
My images
Click to expand
User submitted photo
The mower deck started falling apart after three months. I have a large area to mow and I thought a Cub Cadet would be a smart purchase, but I was wrong. This will be my last Cub Cadet purchase.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Bad design on mower deck

PostedJuly 17, 2013
tlrc
from michigan
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Had it less then a week and belt broke took almost and hour to put it on sence you have to take apart the pulley to put it on
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Happy With Purchase

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Robinflorida
from Florida
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall I am happy with this purchase. I have about 25 hours on the mower now. I agree with other posters on the poor design on the deck. I had to replace the belt on the second mow, which was frustrating, and it is a low deck. However, the mower has performed well other than that. I have not had to replace the belt again and the mower runs strong. I have 3 acres and it will go right through it. Including the taller grass.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Poor design mower deck

PostedApril 13, 2014
TXLAWN
from Dallas TX
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Purchased my mower in the summer of 2012, I had to replace the belt after 3 uses, not quite 12 hours of use. I currently have 100 hours this spring. I have replaced the belts 6 times and 1 idler pulley as I performed my spring preseason inspection I found the second idler pulley and a spindle bearing both bad. Three spindles which drive the blades do not have grease fittings, Really this is what the machine is charged with doing. 1 belt to drive the entire system again another poor design
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very disappointed

PostedApril 28, 2014
DeJaix
from Kentucky
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I had always wanted a Cub Cadet but never really had a yard big enough. We'll I finally got the yard, 1.5 acres, and rushed out to get the Cub. Second time mowing I went through a very minor little dip, repeat very minor, and the steering came off. On my hands and knees I found all the parts and put it back together. Now yesterday I turned over 50 hours and simultaneously the long engine to deck belt disintegrated. With all of that said, my major complaint is the deck height, it's WAY too low. I mow weekly, my yard doesn't grow fast, I have NEVER mowed below the HIGHEST deck setting, and the grass balls up every time. The mower that claimed it would make my lawn look beautiful actually makes it look like a hay field with the strips of dead brown grass resembling drying hay. And with each subsequent mow it gets worse. Now don't think that I'm letting my grass get too tall or mowing while it's damp, I'm very careful to make sure it's dry and mow on the same schedule that the "professionals" on their zero turns mow my neighbors' yards. It shames me to look at my yard and then look at the neighbors. Very sad. Very disappointed. I should've just hired the professionals but, for me, there's something therapeutic and satisfying to making my own yard look beautiful. Unfortunately, I thought the Cub Cadet would help me with that but I have been sadly mistaken.
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This is my 2nd cub cadet

PostedMay 26, 2014
gtmo
from Georgia
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have own cub for 4 years now, just got my 2nd one in March, I mow about 9 acres every week no problem taking about 7 hours to do it. Just to make a few upgrades on the deck like grease fittings on spindles, I have done the ones on the 4 year old and when I got the 2nd I fix it before I cut any grass, now I have over 74 hours on it. The 4 year old has 521 hours on it. PM is some thing I do on a regular bases and keeping them clean, they will last for a long time, most ever body don't care about PM on a lawn tractor, but it's the same on your car or truck. plus I just bought a new SS470 4 cycle weed eater its doing a great job!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LTX 1050 KH Lawn Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Overall Satififed!

PostedMay 28, 2014
Twopak
from OK
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Smart Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only used the mower twice so far! I am pleased with it so far, If I had read these reviews before purchasing it I most likely would have bought something else! I replaced my old 42" cut TS Huskee with this beast, and reduced my cutting time from three hours to 51 Minuets! It cuts good for a 50" deck, deck is a bit low had trouble unloading it on ramps cause deck sets low on highest setting! Made it very tuff to unload by my self! I hope I do not have belt issues that is Why I spent double this time to avoid these type of issues!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.