Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet GT 2042 Garden Tractor

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Cub Cadet.

Cub Cadet GT 2042 Garden Tractor

GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Average Customer Rating:
4.833 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Review 1 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A very nice ride!

PostedJune 26, 2014
gp9934
from SW Michigan
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Used for the first time today. It was SO easy. Very smooth ride. I only have 3/4 acre but have a steep hill with a couple of trees. I had a Cub Cadet 1040LTX and this one is so much nicer. It creeps going down hill and climbs the hill with no problem. It also turns uphill very easily. I hardly spun a tire unlike my old one where I was constantly spinning tires and could not turn on a hill. The forward and reverse pedals are also a very nice feature. Basically, this thing is a tank! I bought the snow blower with it so bring on the snow!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good machine and quality

PostedJuly 25, 2013
swamprat
from Eastern Pa
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The oil plug on the GT 2000 is hard to get at. I have to send it back to the dealer to do an oil change because we can't remove the oil plug (first time). That's my only complaint.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedDecember 25, 2012
Blackfin4
from Florida
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a cub cadet 1330 in 1995 and still have it running great today after 17 trouble free years the deck is starting to wear out so instead of selling it I am keeping it for a yard tractor and went out and bought a GT2000. If I get the service from this machine that I got from my last one I will be a happy camper. I have only used the GT200 twice and love the comfort, handling, and the power this machine has. Wish the grass would grow faster I love this machine.
+7points
9out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nice Garden Tractor

PostedApril 20, 2012
CubGuy
from Northwest PA
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have only had the GT2000 for two weeks now, but I am impressed with its performance. I wanted something heavier-duty than a lawn tractor for my 2 acres of hilly uneven property. The 20HP Kohler Command engine has more than enough power for all of my needs, and the shaft drive delivers instant response and sure power. The cut from the 42” stamped deck is even and effortless (something I was admittedly skeptical about at first with only two deck wheels in the front, and a center roller), and the deck wash system is great also. The seat is very comfortable, all controls are within easy reach, and the mow in reverse feature is great. One slightly negative point is that the mower deck can prove to be somewhat difficult to take on and off, and does require tools for both adjustment and removal – something my old lawn tractor did not. This small inconvenience is far outweighed by the power and performance of the machine though. I did extensive brand comparisons before purchasing this tractor (mainly John Deere), and to get a machine of similar build quality elsewhere would have cost several thousand dollars more. Finally, the serviceable hydro transmission holds nearly 6 quarts of fluid, leading to a very cool running unit. I would highly recommend this machine to anyone looking for a well-built garden tractor to take on a little more than just mowing. Hopefully I will be as pleased in the years to come as I am now.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product has exceeded my expectations

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Bubba1
from Drums, PA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
After a great deal of research on diffrent garden tractors (manufacturers and product types), we decided to purchase the model GT 2000 Cub Cadet with the 42 in. deck and mulch kit - - We could not be happier! Both my wife and I would recommend this tractor and dealer to anyone!
The mower performs flawlessly. The tractor is very comfortable, operates smoothly and feels well balanced during operation. The mulch component is fantastic and did not leave any end trail of un-mulched grass even after the recent growth spurt after a good amount of regional rain as of late. With that, I am compelled to mention my satisfaction with the deck wash system - The deck wash worked great, which made clean up of the tractor effortless.
Most of all, as I previously mentioned above, I want to comliment and thank the ownership and staff of Covered Wagon in Sybertsville, PA - - Craig spent a great deal of time with me to answer my questions during the many visits we made to his store while vetting all the options and choices from the Cub products - - His product knowlege helped us in gettng our questions answered, and made sure we were purchasing the right tractor to meet our long tem needs.
We are very happy with our tractor and purchase experience. We're looking forward to many years of enjoyment with our new garden tractor!
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very Nice Tractor!!

PostedJune 4, 2011
Larry
from South Louisiana
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just purchased a new 2011 GT-2000 from a local dealer in Louisiana to maintain about 3 acres of hilly and uneven terrain. Comfortable seat, plenty of power and very well built. The GT 2000 replaced my 2006 LT 1045 which was a nice machine as well, but the GT is far superior in overall quality, cutting power, comfort and it handles the hills with ease. I hope it gives me 10 or more years of reliable service.
+24points
25out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 7 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great so far

PostedMay 3, 2011
darren
from western pa
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
just bought this tractor mid april love it so far , dealer didnt have the stamped deck for it so he gave me the heavier duty fabricated
54 inch deck , it works great and the tractor handles it with ease. would recommend the fab deck if your dealer will do it , mine said he may sell all that way ...so glad i spent the little extra over the 1000 series gt
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 8 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

more then expected

PostedMay 3, 2011
wilgar
from Indiana
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waited along time to get my gt2000 from dealer. But the wait was great. Machine is huge alot more options then expected. Has plenty power,seating nice, cuts good, turns sharp. Can't get over the size it's way bigger then my 1972 129 hopefully will last as long! Having snow plow for it this winter.
+18points
19out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

fantastic garden tractor

PostedApril 24, 2011
turningwrenches
from pennsylvania
Age: 18-34
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a fantastic garden tractor . Super tight turning radius , superior cutting ability , extremely comfortable . I was sold as soon as i sat on it . Iam glad cub got back to basics and built a simple well designed tractor. In my opinion its one of the best cub cadet tractors they ever built .
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent machine

PostedApril 24, 2011
FloridaBart
from Northeast Ohio
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great maneuverability, plenty of power, very ergonomic with the adjustable steering wheel and seat, great cut with the 42" deck, looking forward to attaching some implements to it.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 11 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Tractor!

PostedApril 22, 2011
Iowamower
from Iowa City, IA
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just purchased the 2000 series tractor from our local dealer and I would highly recommend this over the 1000 series because of the shaft drive. Similar model John Deere's will cost 2-3 k more and don't come with the warranty.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 12 for GT 2042 Garden Tractor
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great lawn mower

PostedApril 7, 2011
Greenteabagger
from Swansboro,NC
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great piece of machinery,lots of cutting power,does the job in style.Should last forever.
+41points
44out of 47found this review helpful.