Customer Reviews for Cub Cadet RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller

Cub Cadet RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller

RT 65 Rear Tine Tiller
Average Customer Rating:
3.917 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 out of 12(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Review 1 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great machine - buy this tiller

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Farmall45
from Union City, MI, USA
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did the research, put hands on several machines, read reviews, watched every "youtube" I could find and talked to people who own a Cub Cadet RT 65
Had issue starting machine first time and discovered plug gap was restricted with "gum" like substance. Cleared the "gum" and machine started. Used about 5 hours, no trouble. Shifting improved with use.
Clean up is super easy. The removable side shields are great idea.
I did notice some of the "tines" were loose. So I would recommend checking all nuts and bolts after first use
I wanted a rear tine tiller for a long time. I feel for the money this is an excellent machine
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

An Extraordinary Tiller

PostedSeptember 25, 2013
gr8honda
from Elkhart, Indiana
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this tiller at Tractor Supply three years ago. This tiller does all the work and then some. I've tilled my garden, Cindy's garden, and bought some land where I put in a half-acre garden area. I feel like this must be an "Industrial Strength" tiller because it works hard and well EVERY time. There is a trick to setting into the right gear and tine direction; but after a while I got the hang of it. My only draw-back so far is the drive belt came off a couple of times. I had no trouble getting it back on (4 bolts/screws off and back on). The problem I have is finding the size of the belt listed ANYWHERE on this Cub Cadet Parts Site - so I can buy a new one. I'll have to take it to a local car parts place where they'll measure it and sell me a replacement.
In my opinion, this is the BEST garden tiller ever made. Oh, and the Honda motor starts every time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

PostedMay 25, 2013
zangeiff
from West Ky
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Smart Attitude 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Innovative 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I have had this model around 4 years. First two seasons it worked great, this year and last year will not run. Hard to get parts for. I worked on it last year for two days and gave up, I have only used the tiller for 2 seasons, and really how much do you use one with a small garden. I would say it may have 5 hours on the motor. When it ran it did great.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Machine so far

PostedOctober 2, 2012
bking
from Lisbon, Maine
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Don't know
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have had the RT 65 roto tiller for about 3 months and have used it 4 times,breaking new ground and working loose soil so far the RT 65 has performed excellent. It does go a little fast in loose soil, but it is nothing that can't be handled, once you get use to it. It all boils down to getting use to using it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is well designed

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Tiller
from Jefferson City, MO
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent engine and power to weight ratio. One review indicated it was a little fast with tines in forward position, just lift up on handle it will cease shoving the unit. Like all tillers they require getting used to. With one year of gardening and yard work I have no complaints. The gear selector hang ups are are result of the unit being in a bind, simply use the clutching handle to set the gear box in a neutral position and wah-lah it goes in gear with no problems. The bi-directional tines are great when your soil changes with moisture etc. I found out that by running a little slower I have better control and better tilling results. Being retired I'm in no hurry anyway.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

low quality

PostedNovember 27, 2011
sunshine1
from north carolina
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Under 1/4 acre
High Performance 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Premium Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Innovative 
2 / 5
2 / 5
In my use in a small garden, I cannot rate this tiller well. The gear box was stiff from day one, but I thought it would work it's way out. The tines now do not work. This happened a couple months after the warrenty expired. The cost of a new gearbox would buy a new tiller. Should I buy a Cub cadet? Don't think so.
+6points
11out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This workhorse gets the job done!

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Architectfarmergirl
from Northern California
Age: 35-54
Gender: female
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this awesome tiller spring 2011 for a very neglected farm.
It has the power I need, and have learned how to handle it comfortably after 20+ hours. Love the safety features. When it hits all the buried junk it has unearthed, it shuts off. Self-sharpening blades are a blessing (can we get this feature for the mower?).
Rear tine with forward/reverse is ideal for all types of soils.
The tires are good size; anything smaller would get stuck on the final pass.
We are so pleased with Cub Cadet, we are looking at their other equipment.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good bang for your buck

PostedMay 26, 2011
Anonymous
from Newfoundland Canada
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had a troy bilt pony and a honda rotor tiller. The troy was a workhorse but was hard to start on times. The honda lower transmission gave out and was very expensive to fix. I bought a cub cadet and was pleasantly surprised with the performance. It really gets into the ground and is easy to operate. The changing gears features are on on control which is not the case with either the troy or the honda. They are a little uncooperative on times but a little jiggling and they are fine, I really like the reverse tines feature.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works well, could use improvement

PostedMay 16, 2011
Polander
from South Texas
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I have had this tiller for a year now. I probably have 30-40hrs on it. Overall it works very well. Starts easily. Runs without bogging down. The two features of this tiller that I have found that could use some improved engineering are No.1- the changing of the tine digging depth by removing the pin keeper and pin to line up the depth hole could somehow be made easier, No.2- shifting, it can be hard to shift from one mode to the next, in particular out of reverse. If the shift pin is not in the right place it is very difficult. I cuss a lot when it gets stuck, but with a few choice words it usually helps get it to shift.
+13points
15out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Limited usefulness

PostedMay 5, 2011
CARode
from Guthrie Oklahoma
Age: 35-54
Gender: male
Yard Size: 1 to 3 acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bought one last fall, used it a few time for winter prep. Motor in front, long handles in back keeps it from getting into corners of garden. In soft dirt (fwd/fwd) it'll bog down and stop engine. In hard dirt (fwd/fwd) it'll run away from you (I'm 280#.) Over winter transmission locked up (warranty replaced.) Now it pops out of gear during normal (light) use. It does a great job of taking grassy area and turning it into garden area if you have a large area to work in. Adjusting the depth with each pas, on virgin ground it works great. Narrow footprint makes it "tippy" on rough ground. Gearing to wheels should be slower to allow the tines to work more. This thing just chops and scoots.
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Over All performance

PostedApril 7, 2011
Ksassy44
from Maringouin, LA
Age: 55-70
Gender: female
Yard Size: 1/2 acre to under acre
High Performance 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Premium Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I bought my tiller Mar 2009, finally used it 2010 about 1/2 hour, then stored again. Pulled it out two days ago to work flower beds, only problem I have is the depth holes do not line up past the 3rd mark, I'll probably have to re-drill them to work. Pronto starting, no struggle for a 67 yr. old woman's equipment and all the power I want plus some.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RT 65 Rear-Tine Garden Tiller
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

A Fine Machine for the price

PostedNovember 9, 2010
Gardener
from Depost, NY
Age: 55-70
Gender: male
Yard Size: Greater than 3 Acres
High Performance 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Premium Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Progressive Attitude 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Innovative 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I'm pleasantly surprised with the quality of this machine. I've used TroyBilts for thirty years, and dollar for dollar the Cub Cadet out performs them all. It's a rugged, easily manueuverable, powerful machine. The reverse tines feature is years ahead of the rest.
+19points
22out of 25found this review helpful.